Premiership Rugby 7s: Young squads announced ahead of Premiership 7s

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

The squads for this weekend’s Gallagher Premiership Rugby 7s at Northampton Saints’ Franklin’s Gardens have been named.


The twelve Gallagher Premiership clubs are split into four pools of three, with all pool games taking place from 5pm on Friday evening. The top two from each pool will head through to the Cup quarter finals on Saturday, beginning at 2.30pm, while the remaining four teams will face off in the Plate semi finals in what is being termed an ‘Olympic style’ tournament.


Gloucester, Wasps, and hosts Northampton Saints are in Pool A. Wasps have won the last two editions of the tournament. Pool B sees Leicester Tigers, Newcastle Falcons, and Saracens together, Saracens won in 2010 with Newcastle winning in 2011.


Pool C contains Bath, Exeter Chiefs, and Worcester Warriors, none of whom have won the competition, while Pool D sees another 3 of whom none have previously won, Bristol Bears, Harlequins, and Sale Sharks.


The great beauty of the Gallagher Premiership 7s though is the chance for fans to see the young stars of the future in action, with all twelve squads containing mainly Academy players, those moving from school to the senior academy and even a few from the U18 Junior Academies such as Jack Clement and Louis Rees-Zammit at Gloucester, Josh Gillespie, Morgan Dayes, Olliw Newman, and Tyler Mills at Saints, and Taju Atta at Wasps to name but a few.


Just a scroll through the squad lists below shows the sheer depth of exciting talent that will be on show, Tom De Glanville at Bath is one to keep a real eye on, so too the likes of Tom Curtis and Kieran Wilkinson in an exceptional group of young players at Sale. Indeed for young talent Sale and Gloucester, who together provided a huge proportion of this year’s England U18 squad, are the two to pay close attention to.


All sides have plenty though, singling out individuals is almost futile as each and every squad has near enough a dozen young Premiership stars in waiting.


It should make for an excellent two days of rugby!


Gallagher Premiership Rugby 7s Pools:


Pool A Pool B Pool C Pool D
Gloucester Leicester Tigers Bath Bristol Bears
Northampton Saints Newcastle Falcons Exeter Chiefs Harlequins
Wasps Saracens Worcester Warriors Sale Sharks




Group A


Gloucester – 1 Alex Morgan, 2 Ewan Fenley, 3 Jacob Morris, 4 Jack Clement (U18), 5 Louis Rees-Sammit (U18), 6 Will Safe, 7 Aaron Hinkley, 8 Gareth Evans, 9 Charlie Chapman (c), 10 Dom Coetzer, 11 Tom Seabrook, 12 Jack Reeves.


Northampton Saints – 1 Paddy Ryan, 2 Connor Tupai. 3 Fraser Strachan, 4 Josh Gillespie(U18), 5 Morgan Dayes (U18), 6 Ollie Newman (U18), 7 Joe Wallace, 8 Devante Onojaife, 9 Tom Emery, 10 Tyler Mills (U18), 11 Ollie Sleightholme, 12 Rory Hutchinson (c).


Wasps – 1 Tim Cardall (Guest),
2 Will Wilson,
3 Tom Stileman (Guest), 4 Will Porter,
5 Sunni Jardine,
6 Owain James (c),
7 Callum Sirker,
8 Taju Atta
(U18), 9 Ben Christie (Guest),
10 Colia Louis,
11 Cameron Anderson,
12 Josh Nott.


Group B:


Leicester Tigers – 1 Henri Lavin, 2 Tommy Reffell, 3 Thom Smith, 4 Taylor Gough, 5 Harry Simmons, 6 Fionn Higgins (Guest), 7 Charlie Thacker, 8 Mike Adlard (Guest), 9 Sam Aspland-Robinson, 10 Jonah Holmes, 11 George Worth, 12 Phil Woodhead (Guest).


Newcastle Falcons – 1 Glen Young, 2 Connor Collett, 3 Simon Uzokwe, 4 Will Montgomery, 5 Tom Marshall, 6 Joe Matavesi, 7 Cameron Nordii-Kelemeti, 8 Ben Stevenson, 9 James Elliott, 10 George Wacokecke, 11 Zach Kibirge, 12 Adam Radwan.


Saracens – 1 Joel Conlon (c), 2 Matt Gallagher, 3 Tom Griffiths, 4 Sean Reffell, 5 Nick Tompkins, 6 Reuben Bird-Tulloch, 7 Rotimi Segun, 8 Dominic Morris, 9 Manu Vunipola, 10 Oliver Morris, 11 Ratu Naulago (Army), 12 Miteli Vulikijapani (Army).


Group C


Bath – 1 Max Wright, 2 Tom Doughty, 3 Jack Davies, 4 Chris Cook, 5 Tom De Glanville, 6 Jack Wilson (c), 7 Darren Atkins, 8 Oli Cattell, 9 Will Butt, 10 Levi Davis, 11 Darren Allinson, 12 Will Partington.


Exeter Chiefs – 1 Tom Lawday (c), 2 Sal M’Boge, 3 George Chatterton, 4 Sam Morley, 5 Tom O’Flaherty, 6 Santiago Cordero, 7 James Short, 8 Richard Capstick, 9 Charlie Wright, 10 Harry Strong, 11 Sam Maunder, 12 Barry Karea.


Worcester Warriors – 1 Michael Mellett (Guest), 2 Zac Ward, 3 Tom Fawcett, 4 Craig Jackson (Guest), 5 George De Cothi (Guest), 6 Will Butler (c), 7 Luke Scully, 8 Nick David, 9 Jordan Ainslie (Guest), 10 Naca Knikinilau (Guest), 11 Mason Tonks (guest), 12 Joss Linney (Guest).


Group D


Bristol Bears – 1 Matt Welsh, 2 Jack Capon, 3 Mike Uren, 4 Reiss Cullen (c), 5 Ioan Lloyd, 6 Nathan Chamberlain, 7 Lailand Gordon (Guest), 8 George Harding, 9 Ehize Ehizode, 10 Dan Thurston, 11 Blake Boyland, 12 Sam Cappaert.


Harlequins – 1 Charlie Kingham (Guest),
2 Cadan Murley,
3 Fergus Guiry (Guest),
4 Andrew Nurse (Guest),
5 Louis Roach (Guest),
6 Femi Sofalorin (Guest),
7 Jack Kenningham,
8 Lennox Anyanwu (U18), 9 Calum Waters (c),10 Jake Hennessey (Guest),
11 Max Coyle, 12 Harry Barlow.


Sale Sharks – 1 Rouban Birch, 2 Ewan Ashman, 3 Sam Dugdale, 4 Teddy Leatherbarrow, 5 Ciaran Booth, 6 Tom Curtis (U18), 7 Kieran Wilkinson, 8 Arron Reed, 9 Paolo Odogwu (c), 10 Gus Warr, 11 Connor Doherty, 12 tom Reobuck (U18).


Gallagher Premiership Rugby 7s Previous Winners


2010 – Saracens

2011 – Newcastle Falcons

2012 – London Irish

2013 – Gloucester Rugby

2014 – Gloucester Rugby

2015 – Newport Gwent Dragons

2016 – Wasps

2017 – Wasps

Leave a Response

Related Articles

Back to top