School 7s: Llandovery College 7s draw

The Llandovery College 7s takes place on Wednesday, one of the biggest 7s tournaments in Wales and a key build up tournament ahead of the Rosslyn Park HSBC National School 7s.


24 teams will gather at Llandovery College, split into eight groups of three teams each. The top two sides in each group will head to the round of last 16 in the Cup knockout, while the third place side will head to the Plate quarter finals.


CAVC CCS Rugby Academy are the reigning champions, after two years of cancellations in 2016 and 2017 due to the weather. They are drawn in Group C alongside Caerleon Comprehensive and Ysgol Gymraeg Ystalyfera.


CAVC’s 2nd VII are also in action, they are drawn in Group F with Coleg Gwent, Cross Keys and Bassaleg for company.


Runners up to CAVC were Ysgol Gyfun Glantaf, they are drawn in Group A along with Bishop Gore and Gower College.


The host school, Llandovery College, won the Plate last year, a 26-17 defeat of Gwyr. This year’s draw sees Llandovery College in Group E, where Brynteg and Ysgol Gyfun Rhydywaun are their competition, having won the Middlesex 7s last week, Llandovery will be full of confidence.


The only English side in the draw are Millfield, though it will likely be a 2nd VII as the 1st VII will be at the Edwin Doran Surrey Schools Senior 7s. They find themselves in Group G where their opponents are Coleg Llandrillo and Colege Sir Gar’s 2nd VII. Sir Gar are long regarded as one of the most feared side’s in Wales and their 1st VII are drawn in Group D along with Whitchurch High School and Ysgol Gyfun Bro Myrddin.


Group B, meanwhile, features Newport High School, NPTC Group, and Ysgol Dyffryn Amann, while Group H sees Pembrokeshire College, Cloeg y Cymoedd, and Ysgol Bro Dinefwr all drawn together.


Llandovery College 7s Draw:


Group A Group B Group C Group D
Bishop Gore Newport High School Caerleon Comprehensive Coleg Sir Gar
Gower College NPTC Group CAVC CCS Rugby Academy Whitchurch High School
Ysgol Gyfun Glantaf Ysgol Dyffryn Aman Ysgol Gymraeg Ystalyfera Ysgol Gyfun Bro Myrddin


Group E Group F Group G Group H
Brynteg Bassaleg Coleg Llandrillo Pembrokeshire College
Llandovery College CAVC CCS Rugby Academy 2nd VII Coleg Sir Gar 2nd VII Coleg y Cymoedd
Ysgol Gyfun Rhydywaun Coleg Gwent, Cross Keys Millfield Ysgol Bro Dinefwr
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on google
Leave a Response

Related Articles

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});
(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});
(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

Back to top