Rosslyn Park HSBC National School 7s: Colts Draw – Sedbergh aiming for successive title

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

Sedbergh will look to defend their Colts title at the 2019 Rosslyn Park HSBC Rosslyn Park National School 7s from Group A.


The Colts tournament runs from Wednesday 27th to Thursday 28th March, with the winners of each of the 32 groups heading straight to a knockout round of 32.


Alongside Sedbergh in Group A will be Bristol Grammar, Bryanston, Eggar’s, and Uppingham. They are far from alone in the tough groups department, Group B tells us as much with Caterham, Llandovery College, Marlborough College, Oakham, and Shrewsbury all in the same group.


Colston’s, Ipswich, Reed’s, and Trinity are joined by Belgium’s Waterloo Schools in Group C, while Group D is brutal, Eton College, Hampton, Malvern College, St Edward’s Oxford, and The Oratory are all pitted together.


Epsom College’s senior side have been brilliant and the Colts will hope to make those knockouts to add to that but must get past Angels International, Orleans Park, RGS Worcester, and Wycliffe College from Group E first.


Bishop Wordsworth’s, Cheltenham College, and Eastbourne College are all in a tough Group F, with St Peter’s York among those in Group G and there is a tricky Group H with Sherborne and St Paul’s among the contenders.


Group L is arguably the toughest group of all, Blundell’s, Abingdon, Brighton College, and Worth are all schools rugby giants in their own right, but they are joined by Wimbledon College and a year groups that has won this competition as both U14s and Juniors. They have never experienced defeat at Rosslyn Park, and their form this year suggests it will take a seriously top side to do so, having won tournaments such as the QES Barnet 7s.


Group I will also be a challenge, Dulwich College, Hymers College, Ivybridge Community College, St Joseph’s College, and Stanwell making up that one.


Over in M Bedford, Denstone, Kirkham, and Rugby are going to be hellish opposition from Whitmore, but they will be competitive. N is also loaded, Portsmouth Grammar, Langley, and Tonbridge among its sides, so too O with Berkhamsted and Canford among the contenders.


John Fisher and Wellington College are both Rosslyn Park legends and they are drawn together in P, while Harrow, Hurstpierpoint, and RGS Newcastle are among those in P. Warwick line up in T, while great rivals Bromsgrove are in V.


The ever-successful Millfield are in Group Y, while Barnard Castle, drawn with Millfield in the U18s, are in Group AA.


CC should be interesting with Beechen Cliff, Simon Langton, Stamford, Weston, and last year’s U14 champions, Whitgift, all lining up. Look out for Glantaf in DD, whose success in the younger age-groups should see them impress here, while EE is loaded, Woodhouse Grove among the protagonists there, meanwhile Clifton, Oundle, and Monmouth reside in Group FF.


2019 Rosslyn Park HSBC National School 7s Colts Draw (Wednesday 27th & Thursday 28th March):


Group A Group B Group C Group D
Bristol Grammar School Caterham Colston’s Eton College
Bryanston Llandovery College Ipswich School Hampton
Eggar’s School Marlborough College Reed’s Malvern College
Sedbergh Oakham Trinity St Edward’s, Oxford
Uppingham Shrewsbury Waterloo Schools (Belgium) The Oratory


Group E Group F Group G Group H
(Pakistan) Angles International Bishop Wordsworth’s Akeley Wood Cardiff High School
Epsom College Cheltenham College KES Birmingham Merchant Tayors’ School
Orelands Park Eastbourne College St Peter’s, York Sherborne
RGS Worcester Welland Park Academy Torquay Boys Grammar Shiplake College
Wycliffe College Ysgol Gyfun Gwyr School Truro St Paul’s School


Group I Group J Group K Group L
Ivybridge Comm College Birkdale Campion Blundell’s
Hymers College Brynteg Comprehensive KES Bath Abingdon
Dulwich College QEH Lord Wandsworth College Brighton College
St Joseph’s College Trent College QES Barnet Wimbledon College
Stanwell Uffculme Royal Hospital School Worth


Group M Group N Group O Group P
Bedford Bedford Modern School Berkhamsted John Fisher
Denstone College Langley Canford Mount St Mary’s College
Kirkham Grammar Portsmouth Grammar Cowbridge Comprehensive Rydal Penrhos
Rugby Tiffin Devonport High School Sutton Valence
Whitmore High School Tonbridge Emanuel Wellington College


Group Q Group R Group S Group T
Harrow Cwmtawe Community Coll Caeleon Comprehensive Duke of York’s RMS
Hurstpierpoint College Langley Park The Perse London Oratory
RGS Newcastle Queen Ethelburga’s Coopers’ Coborn Pangbourne College
UCS RGS Guildford King’s Worcester St Benedict’s School
Woodlands School Yarm Cathedral School, Llandaff Warwick


Group U Group V Group W Group X
Gordon’s Bromsgrove Bradford Grammar Bishop Stortford’s High School
Hinchley Wood Brynmawr Queen Elizabeth’s, Camarthen Brentwood
Loughborough Grammar Pocklington King’s Macclesfield Durham
Perins Worksop College Wisbech Grammar School KCS Wimbledon
St Columba’s College Ysgol Gyfun Cwm Rhymni Ysgol Y Preseli Stockport Grammar


Group Y Group Z Group AA Group BB
Millfield Ibstock Place Barnard Castle School Aberdare College
Sevenoaks Leicester Grammar School Clyst Vale Bristol Free School
St George’s, Weybridge Sidcot Greenhill Llangatwg College
Whitchurch High School Ampleforth College Mill Hill Taunton School
Clayesmore Ysgol Penrhyn Dewi Judd King’s Canterbury


Group CC Group DD Group EE Group FF
Beechen Cliff RGS High Wycombe King’s College, Taunton Clifton College
Simon Langton Grammar Woodbridge Plymouth College Dwr-Y-Felin
Stamford The Brunts Academy Stowe Halliford
Weston College Ysgol Gyfun Bryn Tawe Woodhouse Grove Monmouth
Whitgift Ysgol Gyfun Glantaf Ysgol Gyfun Gymraeg Oundle


To see the draws for the other tournaments, please follow these links:

U18 Cup

U18 Vase


Girls & Girls AASE

Juniors and Prep

Leave a Response

Related Articles




Back to top