Sedbergh Super 10s: Hosts chasing historic ‘double-triple’

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

The major schools rugby tournaments just keep on coming, with the Sedbergh Super 10s taking place on Sunday 31st March and Monday 1st April.


The hosts, Sedbergh, are chasing a third Sedbergh 10s title in a row, but are also chasing something much bigger. They are seeking a unique ‘double-triple’, last year they claimed a hat-trick of major school titles across three different disciplines, the Daily Mail Trophy, the Rosslyn Park HSBC National School 7s, and the Sedbergh Super 10s.


This season an unbeaten season took them to back to back Daily Mail Trophy titles, and they have just completed a sensational two days of rugby at the Rosslyn Park HSBC National School 7s to go back to back there, victory at home over the next couple of days would seal the most remarkable of triumphs in school rugby.


Live Stream Day 1:


It will not be easy, the quality of sides in attendance is remarkable, and Sedbergh will be without at least one absolute totem of their season, their captain Tom Curtis who was utterly sensational at Rosslyn Park. He will be in action for England U19 a few days later, alongside two other stars of last year’s triumph Bevan Rodd, now at Sale Sharks, and Newcastle Falcons’ Josh Hodge, who was named player of the tournament at the Sedbergh 10s in 2017. Another absolute star of that Rosslyn Park triumph was Will Haydon-Wood, he will also be in action in that England U19 side, though it seems likely that he will be able to play.


The tournament consists of three groups, two with four sides and one with five (the five sided group will play slightly shortened games). The top two sides in each group plus the best two third placed sides will then be re-drawn into top Cup groups of four for the second day, with the winner of each group competing in the Cup final.


The remaining five sides from the Day 1 Groups will take part in a round-robin Plate group, with the side finishing top of that pile landing the Plate title.


On Day 1 it is Group 1 that contains five teams, and five excellent teams. Kirkham Grammar School looked impressive at Rosslyn Park, and they are joined by 2017 Plate winners Stamford and their 2016 counterparts, QEGS Wakefield. Also in the group are KES Bath, and potential dark horses, Seaford College.


The hosts, Sedbergh, are in Group 2, where they are joined by the side that spoiled their chances of a record stretch of four titles in a row by beating them in the 2016 final, RGS High Wycombe. Welsh giants Llandovery College are also in the group, alongside a Bristol Grammar School side that could cause some real damage.


Group 3 is utterly loaded, it contains 2014 champions Millfield, who always love their time at this tournament and have six titles in the 22 editions of this competition to date. They are joined by Brighton College, who surprisingly have not claimed the title yet but have reached the final twice, including last year, and have provided two of the last three Players of the Tournament, Kieran Bungaroo in 2016 and Jon Searle in 2018. 2005 champions King’s Macclesfield are also in the group, as are Barnard Castle, one of the legendary schools rugby sides and finalists in 2011.


Live Stream Day 2:


Without doubt, the Sedbergh Super 10s is one of the jewels in the schools rugby crown, victory for anyone would be a massive achievement. Were Sedbergh to do it, it would cap the most remarkable end to two utterly stupendous years of school rugby.


Sedbergh Super 10s Groups


Group 1 Group 2 Group 3
KES Bath Bristol Grammar Barnard Castle
Kirkham Grammar Llandovery College Brighton College
QEGS Wakefield RGS High Wycombe King’s Macclesfield
Seaford College Sedbergh Millfield
Leave a Response

Related Articles




Back to top