England Students squad named for 2 test series v France Universities

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

England Students have named their squad for a two game series against France Universities later this month.


The series will compromise one home game and one away game as the Students aim to avenge last year’s 2-0 series loss in an incredibly tight pair of games.


The first game take place on Sunday 14th April at Chester RUFC, kicking off at 3pm, before the squad then travels to France for a 7.30pm kick off on Friday 19th April at Stade Gilbert Santiago.


Seven players return having featured in last years squad, among them Bath star Will Partington, who could be a real game changer. Northumbria trio Josh Bragman James Elliot, and George Wacokecoke also return, Wacokecoke another who has the potential to run riot.


Conrad Cade and Alex Gibson of Leeds Beckett and Hartpury College respectively are both called up again to anchor the scrum, while Cardiff Met’s Harry Seaward also returns for a second crack at France Universities.


Unsurprisingly the BUCS Super Rugby universities dominate the squad, with 21 of the 23-man squad hailing from those universities. Northumbria and Hartpury College provide the most players with four each, Yaree Fantini joining Bragman, Elliot, and Wacokecoke from Northumbria, with Jack Johnson, Ben George, and Robbie Smith hoining Gibson from Hartpury College.


Leeds Beckett provide three players to the squad, Chester Duff and Elliot Ward linking up with Uni mate Conard Cade. Exeter University also providet hree players, Jack Rouse, Paul Schroter, and former ISRFC Lambs skipper Josh Pieterse.


Durham University are another with three representatives, Charlie Wilson, Fitz Harding, and former Bedford School fly half Paddy McDuell. Cardiff Met and Bath are each represented by two players, Corey Lewis linking up with Seaward from Cardiff Met, while Jack Kenningham links up with Bath University teammate Will Partington.


Nottingham Trent, Loughborough, and Cardiff University are the three BUCS Super Rugby clubs without a representative, but impressively two non-Super Rugby sides are represented. Bailey Ransom representing Newcastle University and Christian Taylor representing Manchester Metropolitan.


England Students Fixtures:


Sunday 14th April v France Universities – Chester RUFC, 3pm

Friday 19th April v France Universities – Stade Gilbert Santiago, 7.30pm


England Students Squad:


Conrad Cade (Leeds Beckett)

Alex Gibson (Hartpury College)

Christian Taylor (Manchester Metropolitan)

Elliot Ward (Leeds Beckett)

Paul Schroter (Exeter)

Fitz Harding (Durham)

Yaree Fantini (Northumbria)

Jack Kenningham (Bath)

James Elliot (Northumbria)

Josh Bragman (Northumbria)

Charlie Wilson (Durham)

George Wacokecoke (Northumbria)

Robbie Smith (Hartpury College)
Chester Duff (Leeds Beckett)

Will Partington (Bath)

Josh Pieterse (Exeter)

Harry Seaward (Cardiff Metropolitan)

Corey Lewis (Cardiff Metropolitan)
Bailey Ransom (Newcastle)

Jack Rouse (Exeter)

Ben George (Hartpury College)

Paddy McDuell (Durham)

Jack Johnson (Hartpury College)

Leave a Response

Related Articles




Back to top