Ireland U18 Clubs & Schools name squad for England Counties U18

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

The Ireland U18 Clubs & Schools squad to face England Counties U18 has been named.


The 24-man squad will face England Counties U18 on Wednesday 24th April at Energia Park, 2.30pm kick off, before the second fixture takes place on Saturday 27th at Ashbourne RFC, 2pm kick off.


Head Coach Wayne Mitchell has selected SGS Filton College’s Zach Kavanagh in his back division, the only exile in the squad.


There is plenty of U18 experience in the squad, Ireland U18 Clubs face Italy U18 in October and seven of that group are selected for this squad. Leinster wing Josh O’Connor backs the squad after a brace in that game, alongside the aforementioned Kavanagh. Also involved in that game were his Leinster colleague Mark Boyle, as well as Munster’s Jay Traynor, and Connacht trio Eoin de Buitléar, Hubert Costello, and Cathal Forde.


In total half the squad are from Leisnter, alongside Boyle in the forward pack are Aaron Coleman, Sam Illo, Ronan Loughnane, and Blackrock College trio Joseph McCarty, Rory McGuire, and Hugo O’Malley. Meanwhile with O’Connor in the back division are Matthew Grogan, Marcus Kiely, Justin Leonard, and Will Reilly.


Ulster have healthy representation too, Phil Campbell, Paddy McApline, and Matthew Sands in the forwards, with Dara Gaskin, Ben Moxam, and Conor Rankin in the backline. Jack Delaney joins Traynor as one of just two Munstermen in the squad, while Connacht’s experience trio of de Buitléar, Costello, and Forde are their only representatives.


Ireland U18 Clubs & Schools Squad:



Mark Boyle (Gorey RFC/Gorey Community School/Leinster)

Phil Campbell (Ballymena RFC/Ulster)

Aaron Coleman (Belvedere College/Leinster)

Hubert Costello (Corinthians RFC/Connacht)

Eoin de Buitléar (An Ghaeltacht/Corinthians RFC/Connacht)

Sam Illo (Wesley College/Leinster)

Ronan Loughnane (Cistercian College Roscrea/Leinster)

Paddy McAlpine (Campbell College/Ulster)

Joseph McCarty (Blackrock College/Leinster)

Rory McGuire (Blackrock College/Leinster)

Hugo O’Malley (Blackrock College/Leinster)

Matthew Sands (City of Armagh RFC/St. Coleman’s Newry/Ulster)

Jay Traynor (Waterpark RFC/De La Salle Waterford/Munster)



Jack Delaney (Crescent College Comprehensive/Munster)

Cathal Forde (Corinthians RFC/Coláiste Iognáid/Connacht)

Dara Gaskin (Campbell College/Ulster)

Matthew Grogan (Belvedere College/Leinster)

Zach Kavanagh (SGS Filton College/IQ Rugby)

Marcus Kiely (Newbridge College/Leinster)

Justin Leonard (Belvedere College/Leinster)

Ben Moxam (Ballymena RFC/Larne High School/Ulster)

Josh O’Connor (Wexford Wanderers RFC/St. Peter’s College/Leinster)

Conor Rankin (Campbell College/Ulster)

Will Reilly (Portlaoise RFC/CBS Portlaoise/Leinster)




Wednesday 24th April – Energia Park, 2.30pm

Saturday 27th April – Ashbourne RFC, 2pm


England Counties U18 Squad

Leave a Response

Related Articles




Back to top