RPNS7s: Colts Draw & Preview

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

The Colts tournament at the Rosslyn Park HSBC National School 7s is often described as the ‘truest’ test, with all of the sides placed in one intense competition, no Cup/Vase split.


It looks like being as tough as ever this year, with 32 groups of five teams each, and only the winner from each of those groups progressing.


After the groups it is a simple format, too, a straight knockout. The Last 32 round takes place towards the end of Day 1 of the competition, Wednesday 25th March, with Day 2 beginning with the Last 16 round, followed by the Quarter Finals, Semi Finals, and Final.


U18 Cup

U18 Vase


U18 Girls, U18 Girls AASE, & U15 Girls

Prep Schools, Junior Schools, U11s


St Peter’s won the title in thrilling fashion last year and their reward this year is a spot in Group A alongside local rivals Ampleforth College, which should make for a blockbuster Day 1 game.


It’ll be all blockbuster in Group B though with Denstone College, Hampton, Trinity, Shrewsbury, and Framingham College all going head to head. It is hardly easier in Groups C and D either, both of which are stacked. Harrow, Eton, Llandovery, Connect Sports Acaedmy, and Malvern make up Group C, with Warwick, Marlborough, Seaford, Abingdon, and Bryanston in a colossally challenging Group D.


Group E has plenty of depth, Canford among the contenders, with Cheltenham College among the big names in Group F, and Clifton College almost certain to be a threat from Group G.


Group H is another group that could have real fireworks though, last year’s finalists, Millfield, are almost certain to be a threat again this year, while Hurstpierpoint College, the side they beat in last year’s semi final, are also in the group. Added to those two are Welsh side Cathedral School Llandaff and Cwm Rhymni, as well as a strong Blundell’s side.


St John’s Leatherhead and Tonbridge go head to head in a competitive Group I, while Group J is absolutely loaded. Group M looks particularly dangerous too, Dulwich College and Kirkham Grammar are two proud names, while Campion are one of the toughest sides on the circuit to play against.


Everyone knows the quality of Sedbergh at any level and they will certainly be one of the big challengers again in this Colts tournament. They reside in a tricky Pool P alongside King’s Macclesfield, Uppingham, Plymouth College, and Mill Hill.


Group Q will see RGS Newcastle and QEGS Wakefield go head to head, a true heavyweight battle, meanwhile Group R features traditional forces in the likes of Rugby and Bedford, as well as Eltham College, Norwich, and King’s Worcester.


St Paul’s often produce some magical 7s, while over in Group T are one of Rosslyn Park’s most successful sides, Whitgift, though they will have their work cut out with the likes of Dean Close in the group. Former champions Wellington College are another giant in this area of the draw, they are in Group U, while Group V features St Joseph’s College and Group W sees Wimbledon College and Haileybury among those going head to head.


Brighton College I Group X are always a threat, their 7s play always exciting spectators. Group Y should be a fun one, with the likes of Bromsgrove and Merchiston Castle set for a high level Anglo-Scots clash. Beechen Cliff in Group AA are a top side, too, since joining the AASE fold at 6th form their rugby has gone from strength to strength.


Group BB looks fierce, Epsom College are always a top side but in RGS High Wycombe, Ivybridge Community College, Trent College, and Warden Park they have real competition. Stowe in CC are due a big run at Rosslyn Park, and John Fisher in DD are always work keeping tabs on, much like Oakham in EE. Group FF looks tough though, with a massive North East battle between Barnard Castle and Durham, the ever strong Stamford snapping away, with Cedars and RGS Guildford set for strong challenges too.


As ever, the Colts tournament promises to be one of the real highlights of the Rosslyn Park HSBC National School 7s.


Colts – Wednesday 25th March & Thursday 26th March


Group A Group B Group C Group D
St Peter’s – York Framlingham College Connect Sports Academy Warwick School
Woodlands School Denstone College Harrow School Marlborough College
Eggar’s School Trinity School Llandovery College Seaford College
Ampleforth College Shrewsbury School Eton College Abingdon School
To be confirmed soon Hampton School Malvern College Bryanston School


Group E Group F Group G Group H
The Oratory School – Reading Sutton Valence School KES Birmingham Hurstpierpoint College
Royal Hospital School Cheltenham College St. John’s College – Southsea The Cathedral School, Llandaff
Wycliffe College Prior Park College Angels International Blundell’s School
Bloxham Truro School Pocklington School Cwm Rhymni School
Canford University College School Clifton College Millfield School


Group I Group J Group K Group L
Tonbridge School Oundle School The Howard of Effingham Kingsmead School
Ysgol Gyfun Gwyr Bristol Grammar School Reed’s School Ellesmere College
Magdalen College School St Benedict’s School King’s College – Taunton Bishop Wordsworth’s
The Perse School Shiplake College Gordons School St. Olave’s Grammar School
St. John’s Leatherhead Penglais Perins School Wallington County GS


Group M Group N Group O Group P
The Campion School The King John School Mount St Mary’s College The King’s School – Macclesfield
Kirkham Grammar School Emanuel School Ipswich School Uppingham School
Merchant Taylors’ School St George’s, Weybridge Caterham School Plymouth College
Dulwich College Hymers College Pangbourne College Mill Hill School
Marling Worth School Langley School, Norfolk Sedbergh School


Group Q Group R Group S Group T
RGS Newcastle Eltham College Gresham’s The Dean Close School
QEGS Wakefield Rugby School Loughborough Grammar Queen Elizabeth’s – Barnet
Colston’s School Norwich School Royal Alexandra & Albert School Queen Elizabeth High School
Clayesmore Bedford School Haverfordwest High School Portsmouth Grammar School
Stanwell The King’s School Worcester St Paul’s School Whitgift


Group U Group V Group W Group X
Ibstock Place School Cowbridge Comprehensive London Oratory Glantaf
Coopers’ Coborn Bryn Celynnog Comprehensive Preseli School Brighton College
Wellington College St Joseph’s College Wimbledon College Rydal Penrhos School
Wisebch Grammar School Torquay Boys’ Grammar School Haileybury Queen Elizabeth’s Hospital Bristol
Hampshire Collegiate School Reigate Grammar School Uffculme School Worksop College


Group Y Group Z Group AA Group BB
Garth Olwg The Judd School Beechen Cliff school Trent College
Stockport Grammar School Sevenoaks School Ysgol Bae Baglan RGS High Wycombe
Merchiston Castle School Cardiff High School KCS Wimbledon Epsom College
Leicester Grammar School The Windsor Boys’ School Cundall Manor School Warden Park Academy
Bromsgrove School Caerleon Comprehensive Langley Park School for Boys Ivybridge CC


Group CC Group DD Group EE Group FF
Woodbridge School Ysgol Bro Edern Bishop’s Stortford High School The Cedars School
Claremont School Gibraltar Schools Taunton School Barnard Castle School
Stowe Duke of York’s RMS Oakham Durham School
Gravesend Grammar School Bristol Free School Waterloo School Stamford School
Yarm School The John Fisher School Brentwood School RGS Guildford


Reserves: Stourport HS, Brynteg, Colfe’s, Brunt Academy, Devonport HS, Ysgol Bryngwyn, Cwmtawe, Halliford, St Edward’s Cheltenham, Lord Wandsworth College, Woodhouse Grove, Haberdashers, King’s Canterbury, Monmouth, Simon Langton GS.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Leave a Response

Related Articles


Back to top