RPNS7s: U14 Draw and Preview

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

Since its introduction a couple of years ago, the U14 tournament at the Rosslyn Park HSBC National School 7s has proved hugely popular.


It is the second busiest tournament of the week, only the U18 Vase has more, and is also one that provides perhaps the most inspiration for its players as it runs alongside the U18 Cup, meaning that players from the very bottom of the school are rubbing shoulders with their heroes at the very top.


There are forty groups in the U14 tournament, each with four sides in them. The forty group winners plus the two best runners up face an elimination round game at the end of Day 1 in the competition, the winners progressing to the Cup pools, the losers to the Plate pools.


There will be 7 Cup pools, each with three sides in it. The winners of those pools plus the best runner up then head to the quarter finals, from which point the tournament is a straight knockout. The Plate tournament follows the same format.


U18 Cup

U18 Vase


U18 Girls, U18 Girls AASE, & U15 Girls

Prep Schools, Junior Schools, U11s


Harrow were magnificent last year to win the title, denying Jumeirah English Speaking School the chance of becoming the first international winners at Rosslyn Park.


Harrow’s reward is a spot in Group A this yer, with Woodlands, Dame Allan’s, and Trinity for company, while Jumeirah have a tricky group containing George Watson’s College, Wellinborough, and Hampton in Group C.


The competition keeps on coming, Marlborough College, The Oratory, Hurstpierpoint, and Scarisbrook Hall all in Group D, with Seaford College in Group E and Epsom College and Cheltenham College grouped together in Group H.


Group I hosts Clifton College, with the likes of Pocklington and Blundell’s in a competitive Group J, although it is Group K that has a huge blockbuster fixture with Tonbridge and St John’s Leatherhead going head to head.


Shiplake College, Prior Park College, Campion, and Stowe makes form a really tricky group L, though groups M, N, and O hardly get easier. Group P, meanwhile, hosts last year’s Plate runners up, Manchester Grammar, as well as Ipswich, Knights Templar, and the ever-strong Dulwich College.


Hymers, Caterham, Holyrood, and St George’s go head to head in Group Q, with Worth and Uppingham among those in Group R. Mount St Mary’s and Rugby will be massive challengers to go through in Group S.


Spare a minute for those in a treacherous Group T though, three northern giants in King’s Macclesfield, RGS Newcastle, and St Peter’s York with a southern challenger in the form of Mill Hill. Another northern giant resides in Group U, QEGS Wakefield, with St Paul’s among their challengers, while Norwich, Whitgift, Colston’s, and Bedford make up a blockbuster Group B.


Wellington College will surely be among the big title challengers, that challenge begins from Group W with Dean Close in Group X and Brighton College in Group Y. Bromsgrove can be found in Group AA, while former champions Wimbledon College are Group BB alongside Haileybury, London Oratory, and Bedford Modern.


Millfield will have plenty expected of them by the others in the draw but they have a tricky group with Sevenoaks, Dollar Academy, and Leicester Grammar. Northampton School for Boys are always worth keeping an eye on, they sit in EE, with Merchiston Castle in Group FF.


GG contains John Fisher, with RGS High Wycombe in HH, meanwhile schools rugby giants Barnard Castle and Kirkham Grammar go head to head in Group KK. Local rivals Oakham and Stamford are both in Group MM, while last year’s Cup quarter finalists, Stockport Grammar, reside in Group NN.


U14 – Thursday 26th March & Friday 27th March


Groups, Elimination Round winners plus 2 RUs, Plate/Cup last 16 pools (7, 3 each), QFs (7 pool winner plus best RU), SFs, Final


Group A Group B Group C Group D
Harrow School Whitmore High School Jumeirah English Speaking School The Oratory School – Reading
Woodlands School Ampleforth College George Watson’s College Marlborough College
Dame Allan’s School Denstone College Wellingborough School Scarisbrick Hall School
Trinity School Malvern College Hampton School Hurstpierpoint College


Group E Group F Group G Group H
Welland Park Academy Angels International St Ambrose College St. John’s College – Southsea
Seaford College Christ’s Hospital KES Birmingham Cheltenham College
Kent College Canterbury The Priory Learning Trust Downside School Epsom College
Sutton Valence School Mary Immaculate High School Colchester Royal Grammar School Wycliffe College


Group I Group J Group K Group L
University College School Pocklington School Tonbridge School Shiplake College
Clifton College Cwm Rhymni School St. John’s Leatherhead Prior Park College
The Cathedral School, Llandaff Blundell’s School Westcliff High School for Boys The Campion School
Warden Park Academy RGS Guildford Aberdare Community Stowe


Group M Group N Group O Group P
Oundle School King’s College – Taunton Birkdale School Dulwich College
The Howard of Effingham St Peter Gloucester Grey Court Ipswich School
Bristol Grammar School St Benedict’s School Merchant Taylors’ School The Knights Templar School
Gordons School Eton College Wallington County GS Manchester Grammar School


Group Q Group R Group S Group T
St George’s College Worth School Mount St Mary’s College Mill Hill School
Hymers College Uppingham School Plymouth College The King’s School, Macclesfield
Caterham School Loughborough Grammar Rugby School RGS Newcastle
Holyrood Academy Rodillian Academy Sidcot School St Peter’s – York


Group U Group V Group W Group X
Cefn Saeson Comprehensive Norwich School Wellington College The King’s School Worcester
St Paul’s School Whitgift Portsmouth Grammar School Orleans Park
QEGS Wakefield Colston’s School Magdalen College School The Leys School
The Hill House School Bedford School Stanwell Dean Close School


Group Y Group Z Group AA Group BB
Queen Elizabeth’s – Barnet Tredegar Comprehensive Brentwood School London Oratory
Richard Challoner Torquay Boys’ Grammar School Bryn Celynnog Comprehensive Haileybury
Brighton College Bromsgrove School St Joseph’s College Bedford Modern School
Wisbech Grammar School Hampshire Collegiate School The Fulham Boys School Wimbledon College


Group CC Group DD Group EE Group FF
Millfield Cardiff High School Langley Park School for Boys Merchiston Castle School
Sevenoaks School The Windsor Boys’ School Queen Elizabeth’s Hospital Bristol Trent College
Dollar Academy Hereford Cathedral School Caerleon Comprehensive Ivybridge CC
Leicester Grammar School Warwick School Northampton School for Boys The Crypt School


Group GG Group HH Group II Group JJ
The John Fisher School Yarm School Loretto School The Cedars School
Chislehurst and Sidcup GS RGS High Wycombe Arden Academy Lutterworth High School
St Cyres School Cantonian High School St John Baptist Aberdare Eastern High School
Birkenhead School Ysgol Bro Edern Newbridge School Boundary Oak School


Group KK Group LL Group MM Group NN
Barnard Castle School Emanuel School Kingsdale Foundation School Brynteg School
Haberdashers’ Abraham Darby Taunton School Oakham St.Bartholomew’s School
Honiton Community Langley School Stamford School Ysgol Bryn Tawe
Kirkham Grammar School Bradford Grammar School Bishop Of Llandaff High School Stockport Grammar School


Reserves: Ysgol Gwent, Ysgol Greenhill, Brunt Academy, Devonport HS, Dartmoor MAT, Tiffin, Dover College, Glantaf, Kings of Wessex, Bourne GS, Halliford, Burford, Woodhouse Grove, Ysgol Plasmawr, Emmanuel College, Solihull, King’s Canterbury, Wrekin College, Simon Langton GS, Ysgol Penrhyn Dewi, Lhanishen HS.

Leave a Response

Related Articles




Back to top