U20 Six Nations: Scotland name side to travel to Wales

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

Scotland have named their side for the final U20 Six Nations fixture of the campaign, against Wales.


The 7.35pm kick off in Colwyn Bay (live on S4C) is the only game of the round, with Italy v England and France v Ireland most postponed due to COVID-19, it is an uncertain time for most U20 teams, particularly with the World Rugby u20 Championships due to take place in Italy this June.


Nevertheless, this game is able to go ahead and Scotland Head Coach Sean Lineen has made just one change to last week’s side that lost narrowly to France, former Sedbergh star Jack Hill, now at Durham University, starts on the blindside flank, with Boroughmuir Bears’ Gregor Brown replacing him on the bench, Jack Blain also returns to the bench after injury.


Hill is one of four Exiles in the starting fifteen, Bristol Bears’ Nathan Chamberlain is again at outside half, with Sale Sharks’ Ewan Ashman and Sydney University’s Thomas Lambert in the front row.


Joining those two is Mak Wilson, with Kieran Watt and Cameron Henderson again in the second row, Rory Darge skippers from 8 again with Connor Boyle on the flank alongside Hill.


Roan Frostick is again partnered with Chamberlain in the half backs, with Robbie McCallum and Matthew Currie in the centres, Ollie Smith is at full back with Rufus McLean and Jacob Henry either side of him.


Speaking to www.scottishrugby.org ahead of the game, Lineen said:


“We are looking to finish the tournament on a high this weekend. The players are very determined and focused on the task at hand and I’ve been really impressed with the players’ attitude and mindset throughout the tournament. They’ve continually looked to improve their game each week and hopefully they can be rewarded for their efforts this Friday.”


“In the last couple of games the backs have really come to the fore, and we’ve got a really complete and well-rounded group of players involved this weekend.”


Scotland U20 XV v Wales – Friday, 7.35pm, Colwyn Bay (Live on S4C, iPlayer – Sky 134, Freesat 120, Virgin 166)


15 Ollie Smith (Ayrshire Bulls), 14 Rufus McLean (Boroughmuir Bears), 13 Matthew Currie (Watsonians Rugby), 12 Robbie McCallum (Boroughmuir Bears), 11 Jacob Henry (Southern Knights), 10 Nathan Chamberlain (Bristol Bears), 9 Roan Frostwick (Watsonians Rugby), 1 Thomas Lambert (Sydney University), 2 Ewan Ashman (Sale Sharks), 3 Mak Wilson (Southern Knights), 4 Kieran Watt (Watsonians Rugby), 5 Cameron Henderson (Stirling County), 6 Jack Hill (Durham University), 7 Connor Boyle (Watsonians Rugby), 8 Rory Darge (Southern Knights, captain).

Replacements: 16 Rory Jackson (Watsonians Rugby), 17 Alex Maxwell (Stourbridge), 18 George Breese (Stirling County), 19 Jamie Campbell (Biggar), 20 Gregor Brown (Boroughmuir Bears), 21 Kyle McGhie (Boroughmuir Bears), 22 Cameron Scott (Boroughmuir Bears), 23 Jack Blain (Heriot’s Rugby).

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Leave a Response

Related Articles


Back to top