New Zealand Secondary Schools and Barbarians Schools Teams named

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

The 2020 New Zealand Secondary Schools and New Zealand Barbarians Schools teams have been announced by New Zealand Rugby.

While COVID-19 has meant that the teams will not have any fixtures in 2020, the selectors decided to name the sides anyway in order to properly recognise the efforts of the players over the course of the season. The selections were made based on performances across the 1st XV season and the Barbarians U18 development camps in September.

Speaking to New Zealand rugby, High Performance Talent Identification Manager PJ Williams said: “This is fantastic recognition for a group of players that have had a disrupted 1st XV season. I am sure they will be disappointed that they cannot pull on the black jersey this year, but being named in these teams is a great achievement, nonetheless. After the Barbarians Camp earlier this month, all players were given individual performance plans and we look forward to seeing what they achieve in coming years.

In the New Zealand Secondary Schools’ Team 26 players are selected from 18 different schools. Hamilton Boys’ High and St Andrew’s College are the most represented with three players selected each, Oliver Foote, Noah Hotham, and Mason Tupaea from Hamilton and Torian Barnes, Joel Parry, and Isi Saumaki from St Andrew’s. Three schools have two players each in the squad, Jamie Hannah and Fabian Holland from Christchurch Boys’ High, Will Bason and Allan Craig from St Kentigern College, and Che Clarke and Luron Iosefa from King’s College.

A further 24 players are selected for the New Zealand Barbarian Schools’ Team, from 22 different schools. King’s College and St Patrick’s College Town have two players each in the squad, Chicago Doyle and Dayton Iobu from King’s and Bradley Crichon, and Christian Stenhouse from St Patrick’s.

2020 New Zealand Secondary Schools’ Team:

Fletcher Anderson (Christ’s College)

Torian Barnes (St Andrew’s College)

Will Bason (St Kentigern College)

Che Clarke (King’s College)

Allan Craig (St Kentigern College)

Ajay Faleafaga (St Peter’s College)

Fehi Fineanganofo (Auckland Grammar)

Oliver Foote (Hamilton Boys’ High)

Harry Godfrey (Whanganui Collegiate)

Jamie Hannah (Christchurch Boys’ High)

Riley Higgins (St Patrick’s College, Silverstream)

Fabian Holland (Christchurch Boys’ High)

Noah Hotham (Hamilton Boys’ High)

Luron Iosefa (King’s College)

Siale Lauaki (St Patrick’s College Town)

Hanz Leota (Scots College)

Blake Makiri (St Peter’s, Cambridge)

George Methven (St Bede’s College)

Havila Molia (St Paul’s Collegiate)

Monu Moli (Marlborough Boys’ High)

James Millan (Rangiora High)

Joel Parry (St Andrew’s College)

Isi Saumaki (St Andrew’s College)

Caleb Tangitau (Westlake Boys’ High)

Mason Tupaea (Hamilton Boys’ High)

Rohan Wingham (King’s High)

2020 New Zealand Barbarian Schools’ Team: 

Jeremiah Asi (St Peter’s College)

Elyjah Crosswell (Palmerston North Boys’ High)

Bradley Crichton (St Patrick’s College Town)

Ollie Curtis (Christchurch Boys’ High)

Chicago Doyle (King’s College)

Ollie Haig (Otago Boys’ High)

Dayton Iobu (King’s College)

Taha Kemara (Hamilton Boys’ High)

Jadin Kingi (Sacred Heart College)

Adam Lennox (Whanganui Collegiate)

Harris McRobbie (Rangiora High)

Lucas Payne (Dargaville College)

Te Rama Reuben (St Kentigern College)

Dominic Ropeti (Scots College)

Jone Rova (New Plymouth Boys’ High)

Fiti Sa (Christ’s College)

Steve Salelea (King’s High)

Wallace Sititi (De La Salle College)

Christian Stenhouse (St Patrick’s College Town)

Jayden Stok (Napier Boys’ High)

Tony Tafa (Kelston Boys’ High)

Mini Toga (St Andrew’s College)

Quinlan Tupou (St Peter’s, Cambridge)

Owen Wright (Aotea College)

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on google
Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles


Back to top