March towards National selection begins for the Lambs

The Independent Schools ‘Lambs’ RFC season truly begins this weekend as the South East U18 squad faces their South West counterparts while the North takes on the Midlands.

Both games take place on Sunday afternoon with the Southern fixture taking place at Portsmouth Grammar School and the Northern fixture being held at Mount St Mary’s College, both games will act as trials for selection to the Northern and Southern XV’s who will take each other on next weekend.

The Lambs hierarchy have confirmed that all players in the squads will be given game time in order to press their claims for selection to the combined sides.

The North look to have a slim advantage over the Midlands in their game having already had the opportunity to play together this season when they took on Hymers College in their centenary match before Christmas.

The North won that game 19-15 with a brilliant hat trick from Durham School’s David Elliot while Sedbergh’s Miles Lloyd collected the rest of the points with his boot.

The Midlands have a strong squad though, and with a good group of key players from the successful Radley and Bedford sides they will be confident to putting together a good performance.

Over in Portsmouth, the South West have put together a fine squad with three of Millfield’s fine 2012/13 squad in the mix. Abingdon, Exeter School and Canford also make sizeable contributions while Sherborne’s abrasive number 8 Will Martin will be a real threat.

The South East are hardly lacking for talent either though and in Harrow School’s Freddie Chalmers they have one of the form fly halves in the country at their disposal.

Some of the top schools sides of the last term are included in the South East line up with King’s Canterbury, KCS Wimbledon, Eton and Tonbridge all represented.

It promises to be an excellent day of rugby, played in the true spirit of the game between some of the best and most exciting players in the country.

Squads & Teams:

North (Probable Squad):

Alastair Mankin – RGS, Newcastle;
Simon Waller – Yarm School;
Sam Morris – Woodhouse Grove School;
Will Stone – Stockport Grammar;
Nathan Stansfield – Bolton School;
Chris Stothard – RGS, Newcastle;
Nick Richardson – RGS, Newcastle;
Nicholas Stephen – St Peter’s, York;
Patrick Nicol – Ampleforth College;
Miles Lloyd – Sedbergh School;
David Elliott – Durham School;
Charles Greswold – St Peters, York;
Sam Hardy – Durham School;
Tom Owens – St. Mary’s College;
Robbie Davidson – Giggleswick School;
Richard Broomby – Giggleswick School;
Alex Albrecht – Sedbergh School;
Angus Smith – St Peter’s, York;
Harvey Corner – Giggleswick School;
Edward Horton – King’s Macclesfield;
Chris Bartolo – St. Mary’s College;
Ben Jones – RGS Newcastle;
Mark Cox – Stockport Grammar;
Ben Blackburn – St. Mary’s College.

Midlands (Probable Squad):

Thomas West – Radley College;
Toby Swift – Radley College;
Angus Weir – Abingdon;
Iain Billington – Berkhamsted School;
Liam Fitt – Bedford School;
Paddy Sarndeson – Rugby School;
Oliver Holt – Berkhamsted School;
Matthew Retchless – Wisbech Grammar School;
Angus Hardy – Berkhamsted School;
Rupert Innes – Uppingham School;
John Rayes – Bedstone College;
Jonathan Duckett – King Edward School Birmingham;
James Knoop – The Perse Upper;
George Adams – Bedford School;
Kit Goodfellow – Rugby School;
George Davis – Shiplake College;
Josh Pieterse – St. Columbas College;
Robert Hill – Radley College;
Toby Wilson – Uppingham School;
Sam-Henry Pressling – Wisbech Grammar School;
Gregory Powell – Bedstone College.

South West (Confirmed):

1. Daniel John – Kings Bruton, 2. Nial Brown – Canford School, 3. Tom Simpson – King Edwards Southampton, 4. Robbie Richardson – Millfield, 5. Ben Bruce – Cheltenham College, 6. Jamie Williams – Kingswood School, 7. Michael Peel – Kings Taunton, 8. William Martin – Sherborne, 9. Charlie Samways – Canford School, 10. Rory Garritt – Abingdon, 11. Dan Paton – King Edwards Southampton, 12. Mike Haines – Canford School, 13. Lloyd Delahunty – Millfield, 14. Julian Dupres – Exeter School, 15. Rhys Davies – Kings Taunton.

Replacements: 16. Tom Wood – Portsmouth GS, 17. Nick Litten – Exeter School, 18. James Dewar – Abingdon School, 19. Will Radford – Millfield School, 20. Henry Thompson – Exeter School.

South East (Confirmed):

1. Iain Stewart – Brentwood School, 2. Conor Phillips – Brentwood School, 3. Fred Davis – Eton College, 4. Alex MacDonald – Eton College, 5.     Joss Morgan – Tonbridge, 6. Matthew Warren – Framlingham College, 7. Oliver Hill-Smith – RGS Guildford, 8. Stephen Packer – Framlingham College, 9. Will Van Klaveren – Kings College School Wimbledon, 10. Freddie Chalmers – Harrow School, 11. Cyprian Owen Edmonds – Harrow School, 12. Ben Simpson – The King’s School, Canterbury, 13. Piers O’ Connor – Eastbourne College, 14. Henry Baldwin – Framlingham College, 15. Charlie Banks – Colfe’s School.

Replacements: Aurele Armstrong – Merchant Taylors School, Max Ellery – Bede’s School, Elliot Roofe – Colfe’s School, Will Bennett – Reigate Grammar School, Noah Miller – University College School, Tom Wrigglesworth – Eton College, James Parker – Colfe’s School

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top