England and Scotland names teams for Under 18 clash


The oldest International match in rugby takes place again tomorrow afternoon when England Under 18’s meet Scotland’s Under 18’s at Darlington RFC.

In the Calcutta Cup clashes so far this season, the England 1st XV and the U20’s have won, whilst Scotland’s A team beat the England Saxons at Kingston Park in February.

When the sides met last year in Hawick, England won 20-8 and they will be looking for more of the same this season. It is the first game for both sides this season, though the England U18 squad was selected way back in the autumn, so both sides will be itching to get onto the pitch.

The England side is packed with players from the AASE College’s, which could prove interesting for Ivybridge College scrum half Ben Vellacott who sits on the Scotland bench, opposite many of his school mates.

Ruaraidh Smith has also made the Scotland team via an English school; he is the Oakham School captain and a fine runner with the ball in hand. Guiding him and his side around the park will be London Scottish fly half James Lang.

Merchiston Castle have played against many of the top English School sides, the selection of three of their players could provide some useful insight into a few of England’s stars.

The England 23 looks incredibly exciting, all have been lighting up the field this season for both their schools and in the Under 18 Aviva Premiership for their Pro clubs.

Northampton, Saracens, Wasps and Exeter are the big contributors to the squad with three players each, and while the AASE College’s dominate there are also eleven players from the regular school circuit in the squad, chief among them is James Chisholm of Brighton College who captains the side from number 8.

The tried and tested Oaklands and Saracens 10 & 13 combination of Josh Sharp and Nick Tompkins is carried through into the England set up. Tompkins, the youngest of the three brothers, has been in majestic form this season.

Up front Andrew Boyce of King’s Worcester starts at 7, capping a magnificent few weeks in which he has received his first professional contract, and won two sevens tournaments with his school side.

Charlie Ewels adds to his every growing collection of England Under 18 caps in the second row and is joined by Stowe’s Jordan Onojaife.

It promises to be an exciting game, England will expect to win if they are at their best but there is no doubting that Scotland are a tough outfit who will give everything for the win.



15 Howard Packman (Moulton College & Northampton Saints)
14 Tom Howe ((Shiplake College & London Wasps)
13 Nick Tompkins (Oaklands College & Saracens)
12 Brett Herron (Wellington College & London Irish)
11 Tom Fowlie (St Paul’s Catholic College & London Irish)
10 Josh Sharp (Oaklands College & Saracens)
9 Stuart Townsend (Ivybridge Community College & Exeter Chiefs)
1 Luke Chapman (Truro College & Exeter Chiefs)
2 Jack Walker (Prince Henry’s & Leeds Carnegie)
3 Paul Hill (Prince Henry’s Grammar & Leeds Carnegie)
4 Jordan Onojaife (Stowe & Northampton Saints)
5 Charlie Ewels (Bryanston School & Bath Rugby)
6 Andrew Hughes (Hartpury College & Sale Sharks)
7 Andrew Boyce (Kings Worcester &Worcester Warriors)
8 James Chisholm (c) (Brighton College & Harlequins)

Replacements: 16 Sam James (Bishop’s Stortford & Saracens)
17 George Edgson (Hartpury College & London Wasps)
18 Neale Farthing (Wyggeston & Queen Elizabeth College & Leicester Tigers)
19 Charlie Hewitt (Ivybridge College & Exeter Chiefs)
20 Josh Peters (Oundle School & Northampton Saints)
21 James Mitchell (Lymm School & Sale Sharks)
22 Josh Skelcey (Moulton College & Northampton)
23 Louis Clayton-Molloy (Harrow School & London Wasps)


15. Gavin Parker (Merchiston Castle School/Biggar)
14. Ruaraidh Smith (Oakham School/Northampton Saints)
13. Richard Taylor (Loretto/Melrose)
12. Henry Slater (Merchiston Castle School)
11. Angus Rennie (Gordon Schools Huntly/Aberdeen GSFP)
10. James Lang (London Scottish)
9. Luke Earle-Wright (Robert Gordon’s College/Aberdeen GSFP)
1. Cameron Fenton (Strathallan/ Howe of Fife)
2. Ross Graham (Hawick PSA)
3. Zander Fagerson (Strathallan)
4. Lewis Carmichael (North Berwick HS/North Berwick)
5. Neil Irvine Hess (George Watson’s College)
6. Scott Burnside (North Berwick HS)
7. Ally Miller (George Watson’s College)
8. Alasdair Mackie (Dollar Academy)

Replacements: 16. Rory Simpson (Edinburgh Academy)
17. Reece Patterson (North Berwick HS)
18. Andrew McWilliam (Edinburgh Academy/Currie)
19. James Ritchie (Strathallan)
20. Magnus Bradbury (Merchiston Castle School/Oban Lorne)
21. Ben Vellacott (Ivybridge College/Barnstable)
22. Archie Russell (Stirling County)
23. Gavin Lowe (Ayr)
24. Iain Sim (Duns)

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top