England & New Zealand make one change each


England have made just one change to their starting XV ahead of their match against New Zealand on Saturday.

Dan Cole is the only change to the side that beat Argentina 31-12 last weekend. He replaces David Wilson, who drops back to the bench where he will be joined by Wasps’ loosehead Matt Mullan.

Mullan has been drafted into the squad after Alex Corbisiero and Mako Vunipola both suffered injuries, leaving England with something of a loosehead crisis.

Ben Youngs also returns to the 23, he had to pull out last week with an injury and was replaced on the bench by Danny Care but the Leicester Tiger is fit again and retakes his spot on the substitutes bench.

New Zealand have also made just one change, bringing in Julian Savea on the wing for Cory Jane. There is also just one change on their bench from that victory over France, with Luke Romano coming in for Sam Cane.

Dan Carter will win his 100th cap for the All Blacks and will be one of four centurions in their starting XV. Richie McCaw, Tony Woodcock, and Kevin Mealamu are the others.

Perhaps the greatest sign of the difference between the two sides is in the fact that the All Blacks have 959 caps spread across their 23, while England have just 493, with Toby Flood their only player to have reached 50 caps, though Dylan Hartley does win his 50th on Saturday, as does New Zealand’s Sam Whitelock.

The anticipation for this fixture is huge, after a Manu Tuilagi inspired England thrillingly beat the All Blacks last year the World Champions have gone unbeaten and return to Twickenham determined to prove that last year was just a blip.

England meanwhile are desperate to put in a top class eighty minutes after serving up a half of excellence and a half of mediocrity in each of their previous two QBE Internationals.

Stuart Lancaster has said that he wants to end the year as the second best team on the IRB’s world rankings, and to do so his side will need to beat the All Blacks.

What do you think of the two teams, and who do you think will win? Let us know via the comment box below, or on Twitter (@FifteenRugbyXV).

England XV:

15. Mike Brown 14. Chris Ashton 13. Joel Tomkins 12. Billy Twelvetrees 11. Ben Foden 10. Owen Farrell 9. Lee Dickson; 1. Joe Marler 2. Dylan Hartley 3. Dan Cole 4. Joe Launchbury 5. Courtney Lawes 6. Tom Wood 7. Chris Robshaw (c) 8. Billy Vunipola.

Replacements: 16. Tom Youngs 17. Matt Mullan 18. David Wilson 19. Geoff Parling 20. Ben Morgan 21. Ben Youngs 22. Toby Flood 23. Alex Goode.

New Zealand XV:

15 Israel Dagg, 14 Charles Piutau, 13. Ben Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Samuel Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock.

Replacements: 16 Dane Coles, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Charlie Faumuina, 19 Luke Romano, 20 Steven Luatua, 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22 Aaron Cruden, 23 Ryan Crotty.

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top