Wellington College duo join Wasps Academy squad for Melrose 7s

Wasps have announced that they will be sending a Senior Academy side to the Melrose 7s this weekend.

The squad is led by the former Henley College man Oskar Hirsky-Douglas, and he will be backed up by three England 7s internationals, Callum Wilson, Jack Walsh, and Sam Stanley.

Also in the squad are two England U20 internationals, Piers O’Connor and Tom Howe. O’Conner, a former Eastbourne College pupil, and Howe, formerly of Shiplake College, will add a huge amount of speed and elusiveness to the team.

Perhaps the most exciting two names on the teamsheet though are current Wellington College pupils Will Wilson and Connor Dolan.

The two were absolutely key to Wellington’s utter domination of the schools 7s circuit this season, their side won every game they played, winning six titles including the HSBC Rosslyn Park National Schools 7s.

With Wilson being the Wellington College captain, and Dolan having captained the Wasps U18 side, they are not just adding talent, they will be adding leadership too.

They will be playing alongside two players only recently out of school, former Bedford number 8 Ollie Lyons, and the Harrow School leaver Harry Glover are also in the ten man squad.

Speaking ahead of the tournament, Academy Manager Matt Davies said:

 “The Aberdeen Asset Management Melrose Sevens is a brilliant tournament and we are all looking forward to getting out to Scotland this weekend. Sevens is an interesting game for young players as it highlights the core skills, with passing, tackling and running all put under pressure with the added space on the field. 

“We have got some very talented young players in the squad and, with the added experience of the three guys from the England 7s group, we feel like we have a well-balanced group.”

Wasps Squad:

1. Callum Wilson (England 7s)

2. Ollie Lyons

3. Oskar Hirskyj-Douglas

4. Jack Walsh (England 7s)

5. Sam Stanley (England 7s)

6. Piers O’Conor

7. Tom Howe

8. Conor Dolan (Wellington College)

9. Harry Glover

10. Will Wilson (Wellington College)

Back to top