Stockport Grammar School & Glossop RC to meet in Charity game for Ben Stollery

Tomorrow evening at Glossop RFC, Stockport Grammar School and Glossop RFC will meet in a charity match following the tragic death of Ben Stollery.

Stollery, a pupil and number 8 at Stockport Grammar School who began his rugby career at Glossop RFC, tragically took his life last month. He suffered from depression and tomorrow evenings game will be raising money for Young Minds, a charity committed to improving the emotional well being and mental health of children and young people.

His parents, Rob and Carol, have already raised over £7000 for the charity, along with the rest of the family, and Friday’s game will no doubt add significantly to that.

Rob has spoken of how he hopes the event will be a cheerful celebration of Ben’s life, as the funeral was, where over 300 people attended and shared positive stories from Ben’s life.

Ahead of tomorrow’s game, Rob Stollery said: “I want the match to be an upbeat celebration of Ben’s life and at the same time we’ll hopefully raise a bit of money for ‘Young Minds’ and increase awareness when it comes to young mental health.”

The game kicks off at 19.00 at Glossop RFC and everyone is very much encouraged to come along for what will hopefully be a cheerful event, which will hopefully raise a lot of money for those with depression and those who care for them.


Glossop RFC:

Alex Barnsley,  Alex Ball,  Jake Brass,  Ivan Douglas,  Sam Dressner-Barnes,  Dominic Elliot,  Alex Ford,  Ben Garbutt,  Toby Gaskell,  James Gilboy,  Sam Haley,  Josh Harbut,  George Hopkins,  Jake Hughes,  Ellis Lock,  Cameron Murray-Fife,  Ross Murray-Fife,  Pelham Pedley,  Jake Qualtrough,  Jordan Simpson,  Mike Solomu,  Connor Thackeray,  Mike Tickle,  Callum Wallace.

Stockport Grammar School:

Luke Berry,  Joe Blashill,  Craig (Trev) Bowie,  Adam Cawthorne,  Sam Clarke,  Harry Cowell,  Patrick Duffy,  Sam Fitzsimmons,  Will Hanson,  Si Howard,  Marcus Jones,  Will Jones,  Yemi Lijadu,  Theo Lloyd Jones,  Adam North,  Brady O’Farrell,  Tom O’Mahony,  Alex Provan,  Mark Ray,  Ed Robinson,  Jack Robinson,  George Wardroper.

Back to top