England U20 forced to make changes to World U20 Championships squad

England have added Tom Howe and Oli Bryant to their squad for the World Rugby U20 Championship, which starts on 2nd June in Northern Italy, following injuries to Joe Marchant and Harry Mallinger.

Both Howe, a former Shiplake College star, and Bryant, formerly at Redruth School, featured in England’s victorious U20 6 Nations campaign.

It is a blow for England though, Marchant was one of the undoubted stars of the 6 Nations and made his first Harlequins start last week, while Mallinder was a star of last year’s U18 European Championship victory.

Howe and Bryant arrive in time to link up with the squad for their pre-Championship training camp in Newcastle, a training camp that Head Coach Jon Callard is grateful for, especially after a training game against Newcastle Academy yesterday, saying:

“We are in a good position and grateful to Newcastle for the use of their facilities this week and for providing tough opposition in a fixture which gave the squad valuable game time.”

“The camp has proved just how hard the players have been working since the Six Nations. Following that tournament we met with each player and their Academy managers to discuss individual strengths, areas to work on and goals.”

“We have a great relationship with the clubs and credit must be given for the way they have continued to support the players’ development and preparations.“

Speaking of the injuries and their replacements, Callard said:

“It is unfortunate for Harry Mallinder and Joe Marchant, especially as Joe only picked up his injury last weekend when playing for Quins against Newcastle. However, I have no doubt that Tom Howe and Oli Bryant will make the most of this opportunity to represent their country in a world championship.”

 “We are now all very much looking forward to getting out to Italy and taking on the challenges facing us.”

England World Rugby U20 Championship Squad:

Sebastian Adeniran-Olule (Harlequins) 

Joe Batley (Gloucester Rugby) 

Charles Beckett (Leicester Tigers) 

Oli Bryant (Leicester Tigers) 

James Chisholm (Harlequins) 

Max Clark (Bath Rugby) 

Lloyd Evans (Gloucester Rugby) 

Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby, captain) 

Ellis Genge (Bristol Rugby) 

Paul Hill (Yorkshire Carnegie) 

Owen Hills (Leicester Tigers) 

Tom Howe (Wasps) 

Jack Innard (Exeter Chiefs) 

Rory Jennings (Bath Rugby) 

Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints) 

James Mitchell (Sale Sharks) 

Aaron  Morris (Saracens) 

Piers O’Conor (Wasps) 

Will Owen (Leicester Tigers) 

Howard Packman (Northampton Saints) 

Ciaran Parker (Sale Sharks) 

George Perkins (Saracens) 

Sam Skinner (Exeter Chiefs) 

Nick Tompkins (Saracens) 

Stuart Townsend (Exeter Chiefs) 

Kieran Treadwell (Harlequins) 

Jack Walker (Yorkshire Carnegie) 

Will Witty (Newcastle Falcons)

Pool Fixtures:

2nd June v Japan, 17.30 BST

6th June v Wales, 19.30 BST

10th June v France, 15.30 BST

Back to top