England & Scotland drawn together in World Rugby U20 Championship

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

The pools and fixture schedule for the 2016 World Rugby U20 Championships have been released.


The Championships are being held in Manchester this year, and the host nation have been pitted in a tough pool alongside Australia, Scotland, and Italy. England will fancy their chances though, having reached the last three finals, winning in 2013 and 2014.


Wales and Ireland, as last year, are grouped together, they will also face Georgia and the reigning Champions, New Zealand, in group A.


Pool C sees South Africa, whom England beat in that 2014 final up against France, Argentina, and Japan.


Speaking at the fixture release, England U20 Head Coach, Ian Peel, said:


“When it comes to the U20 World Championship history doesn’t matter because it is a completely different squad each year. We’re just really excited that the current group will get to show what they are about against three tough teams.”


“We will have played Scotland and Italy prior to the tournament in the Six Nations so will have an understanding of what they will bring. Then with Australia, it is a great opportunity for these boys to play a Southern Hemisphere team – something we don’t get to do very often.”


“We have recently had one of our first camps with the wider U20 group and there is real excitement seeing just how massive the Rugby World Cup is with record crowds at lots of venues. There has been huge support not just for England but all the teams and we hope that continues for us in Manchester next year.”


The Championships begin on the 7th June, and England open their campaign that evening against Italy at the Manchester City Academy Stadium at 19.45. The tournament finishes on Saturday 25th June.


World Rugby U20 Championship Pools
Pool A Pool B Pool C
New Zealand England South Africa
Wales Australia France
Ireland Scotland Argentina
Georgia Italy Japan




Tuesday 7th June


France v Argentina, AJ Bell Stadium, 15.15

Australia v Scotland, AJ Bell Stadium. 17.30

New Zealand v Georgia, AJ Bell Stadium, 19.45

South Africa v Japan, Academy Stadium, 15.15

Wales v Ireland, Academy Stadium, 17.30

England v Italy, Academy Stadium, 19.45


Saturday 11th June


Australia v Italy, AJ Bell Stadium, 13.30

France v Japan, AJ Bell Stadium, 15.45

South Africa v Argentina, AJ Bell Stadium, 18.00

New Zealand vs Ireland, Academy Stadium, 13.30

Wales v Georgia, Academy Stadium, 15.45

England v Scotland, Academy Stadium, 18.00


Wednesday 15th June


Argentina v Japan, AJ Bell Stadium, 15.15

New Zealand v Wales, AJ Bell Stadium, 17.30

England v Argentina, AJ Bell Stadium, 19.45

Scotland v Italy, Academy Stadium, 15.15

Ireland v Georgia, Academy Stadium, 17.30

South Africa v France, Academy Stadium, 19.45


Monday 20th June – Semi Finals Day


Saturday 25th June – Finals Day

Leave a Response

Related Articles

Back to top