U20 RBS 6 Nations: Ireland U20 name side for France, Sedbergh old boy stays at 10


Ireland U20 have named their side for Friday night’s game against France.


The 8.05pm kick off, live on RTE 2, comes after they lost a thrilling game to Wales last week, while France sit at the top of the table following a strong victory over Italy.


Once again there is interest for those on this side of the Irish Sea, with former Sedbergh full back Johnny McPhillips starting at outside half for Ireland U20.


Hugo Keenan moves from the wing to full back for injured Jack Power, Conor O’Brien comes onto the wing.


Prop Conor Kenny replaces Conon O’Donnell, while openside Dan Walsh makes his U20 debut, coming in for the injured Will Connors.


Speaking ahead of the squad’s departure for France, Ireland U20 Head Coach Nigel Carolan said:


“We were disappointed with how things went against Wales. I thought that we played well overall but mistakes proved costly in the end. We’ve hopefully addressed the key areas and we’ll be looking for an improved performance on Friday night.”


“Our training sessions this week have been very positive and the players are looking forward to the game in Narbonne. If we can maximise on our opportunities, I’d be confident of a result against the French.”


Ireland U20 XV:


15 Hugo Keenan (UCD/Leinster)

14 Matthew Byrne (Terenure College/Leinster)

13 Shane Daly (Cork Constitution/Munster)

12 Jimmy O’Brien (UCD/Leinster)

11 Conor O’Brien (Clontarf/Leinster)

10 Johnny McPhillips (Queen’s University/Ulster)

9 John Poland (Cork Constitution/Munster)

1 Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster)

2 Adam McBurney (Ballymena/Ulster)

3 Conor Kenny (Buccaneers/Connacht)

4 Peter Claffey (Galwegians/Connacht)

5 James Ryan (Lansdowne/Leinster) (c)

6 Cillian Gallagher (Sligo/Connacht)

7 Dan Walsh (Cork Constitution/Munster)

8 Max Deegan (Lansdowne/Leinster)


16 Shane Fenton (Young Munster/Munster)

17 James Bollard (Dublin University/Leinster)

18 Conan O’Donnell (Sligo/Connacht)

19 Sean O’Connor (Cashel/Munster)

20 Kelvin Brown (Shannon/Munster)

21 Stephen Kerins (Sligo/Connacht)

22 Brett Connon (Newcastle Falcons/Exiles)

23 Terry Kennedy (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)

Leave a Response

Related Articles

Back to top