Wales U16 name side for England clash

Wales Schools U16 have named their side to face England U16 at Ystrad Mynach on Sunday.


The 14.30 kick off sees the two sides play their first international of the season. Robert Sidoli, the former Wales lock, is the Welsh Head Coach, and speaking ahead of Sunday’s clash, he said:


“We have watched a huge number of boys across the Easter Regional U16 programme, the North Wales tournament and the Welsh Academicals series of games, so the first challenge was to identify a group of players for this Test and then to prepare them for the match.”


“It is important to maintain a broad player base as we move forward to the next level of regional and international rugby but we are pleased with the squad we have going into what will be a great opportunity for the boys on Sunday and with our preparation.”


“England have a much wider pool of players to select from and they’ve shown in our matches over the last few years that we are in for a huge physical challenge. They have won our recent games so we certainly owe them a good game.”


“We’ve made good progress at U18 and U20 level over the last couple of years and our management team has worked very closely with the rest of the WRU international age grade coaches so hopefully we can replicate some of the good form shown by those groups.”


Wales U16 v England U16 – Sunday, 14.30, Caerphilly


Wales Schools U16 XV:


15 Harri Dole (Ysgol Dinefwr)

14 Rio Dyer (Bassaleg High School)

13 Ben Cambriani (Bishopston)

12 Tiaan Wheeler (Llangatwg)

11 Ioan Davies (Rhydywaun)

10 Luke Scully (Llangatwg)

9 Dan Babos (Croesyceiliog)

1 Nathan Evans (Oakdale)

2 Will Griffiths (West Mon)

3 Adam Thomas (Strade)

4 Cian Lewis-Hughes (Cymer)

5 Iestyn Rees (Bro Dinefwr)

6 Ioan Rhys Davies (Glantaf)

7 Gethin Davies (captain, Y Preseli)

8 Taine Basham (Abersychan)

Replacements: 16 Dom Booth (Greenhill) 17 Tyler Pugsley (Strade) 18 Ben Warren (Treorchy) 19 Rob Brookson (West Mon) 20 Callum James (Brecon High School) 21 Sam Cambriani (Gowerton) 22 Llew Smith (Llandovery College) 23 Rhys Davies (Cyfarthfa).

Back to top