Felsted shock winners of Team of the Season Vote


The results of your School Team of the Season vote are in, and it has yielded a surprising result as voters from the South East of England arrived in their late droves.


Bedford and Bromgrove were the favourites to take the award after some stunning results this season, which included unbeaten season for both, the Champions Trophy title for Bedford and the NatWest Cup title for Bromsgrove.


However Feslted took the votes after an impressive season that saw them punch well above their weight, proving that in the voters’ eyes performance is not just about achievement relative to everyone else, but also relative to size and expectation.


Also on the shortlist were Harrow, Cranleigh, Clifton College, RGS High Wycombe, Wellington College, Kirkham Grammar School, and Hampton.


Harrow and Cranleigh still have rugby left to play, they meet on Sunday at Twickenham Stadium at the HSBC London 7s in the now traditional fixture between the winners of the HSBC Rosslyn Park National School 7s title and the runners up.


Last year Wellington College picked up the victory at Twickenham, beating John Fisher, who had beaten Millfield at Twickenham the previous year.


Both collected their fair share of votes for the Team of the Season, but perhaps had voters waiting for the outcome of this game before committing.


None could amass as many votes as Felsted though, who mobilized their voting quite brilliantly, using social media to create an impressive campaign that saw the voting page shared by over 500 Felsted supporters on Facebook alone.


There is still a chance for other teams to collect the most prestigious award of the season though, with the National Rugby Awards School Team of the Season to be decided.


Taking place at Twickenham on Thursday 1st September, the National Rugby Awards will see a number of awards given out, including the School Team of the Season award, and once again Fifteen Rugby will be supporting the awards.


To be eligible teams/schools must register to enter by Sunday 5th June. A shortlist of teams will be drawn up, from which the winner will be selected by an experienced and impartial panel. Last year Wellington College picked up the award at a brilliant reception at Twickenham Stadium that included a tour of the ground, pitchside drinks, and an excellent three course meal with a silent auction.


You can enter your school for the awards via the link at the bottom of the article.


For now though, congratulations to Felsted, voted as your School Team of the Season.



Leave a Response

Related Articles

Back to top