U20 6 Nations: Ireland name team for Italy, skipper Jack Kelly out injured

Ireland U20 have made two changes to their side that dramatically beat Scotland last weekend.


Colm Hogan moves from wing to full back for Friday’s game away to Italy as a result of captain’s Jack Kelly’s injury, with Calvin Nash coming into the side on the left wing. Charlie Connolly is the other change, he starts at tighthead prop.


Matthew Burke and Gavin Coombes are on the bench having not been involved last weekend.


With Kelly out injured, the captaincy moves to Connacht blindside Cillian Gallagher.


Once again former Sedbergh full back Johnny McPhillips starts at fly half, his late conversion sealed the win for his side in dramatic fashion against Scotland last week.


Speaking ahead of the Friday’s 18.00 kick off at the Stadio Enrico Chersoni, Head Coach Nigel Carolan said:


“It was tough going last Friday night in Glasgow. The conditions made it challenging and with 21 of the 23 players involved gaining their first experience of international rugby at this level, the fact that we came away with the result against a very good Scottish side is a big positive.”


“The Italians are ever improving, so we are expecting another tough encounter, particularly up front, where they made life difficult for Wales last week. We have made a couple of changes for this week, so for the players selected, we’re looking for them to build on their experience from last week and continue to develop as a team.”


Italy U20 v Ireland U20 – Stadio Enrico Chersoni, Prato, 18.00 kick off.


Ireland U20 XV

15 Colm Hogan (Dublin University/Munster), 14 Jordan Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster), 13 Gavin Mullin (UCD/Leinster), 12 Ciaran Frawley (UCD/Leinster), 11 Calvin Nash (Young Munster/Munster), 10 Johnny McPhillips (Ballynahinch/Ulster), 9 Johnny Stewart (Queen’s University/Ulster), 1 Joey Conway (UL Bohemians/Munster), 2 Tadgh McElroy (Lansdowne FC/Leinster), 3 Charlie Connolly (Dublin University/Leinster), 4 Fineen Wycherley (Young Munster/Munster), 5 Oisin Dowling (Lansdowne FC/Leinster), 6 Cillian Gallagher (Corinthians/Connacht, captain), 7 Paul Boyle (Lansdowne FC/Leinster), 8 Caelan Doris (St Mary’s College/Leinster).

Replacements: 16 Adam Moloney (Shannon/Munster), 17 Rory Mulvihill (UCD/Leinster), 18 Matthew Burke (Corinthians/Connacht), 19 Jack Regan (UCD/Leinster), 20 Gavin Coombes (Young Munster/Munster), 21 Jack Lyons (Young Munster/Munster), 22 Conor Fitzgerald (Shannon/Munster), 23 Tommy O’Brien (UCD/Leinster).

Back to top