World Rugby U20 Championships: Ireland name strong team for U20 opener

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

Ireland have named their side for their opening game of the 2018 World Rugby U20 Championships.


Head Coach Noel McNamara’s side will face France in Perpignan at 8pm (BST), ahead of further Pool C games against South Africa and Georgia next week.


Number 8 Caelan Doris of St Mary’s College and Leinster will captain the side from number 8. It is his second World Rugby U20 Championship after featuring in Georgia last year.


He is one of six veterans in the side, including Diarmund Barron in the front row, along with Michael Silvester at full back, with Jordan Duggan, Jonny Stewart, and Conor Dean bringing on that same experience from the bench.


Commenting ahead of the game, McNamara said: “There has been a great build up to this game, with positive work done both at home and since we arrived here in France and everyone is looking forward to getting the tournament underway.”


“We know from the Six Nations how vocal and passionate the French fans are and there’s no doubt that there will be a fantastic atmosphere in Perpignan tomorrow night. The players have worked hard and they know the task ahead, so for them it’s about focusing on their roles and going out there and playing with conviction.”


Ireland U20 v France U20: Wednesday, 8pm (BST), Narbonne (live on & EIR Sport)


Ireland U20 XV:

15 Michael Silvester (Dublin University/Leinster)

14 Tom Roche (Lansdowne/Leinster)

13 Tommy O’Brien (UCD/Leinster)

12 Peter Sylvester (UCC/Munster)

11 Dan Hurley (Young Munster/Munster)

10 Harry Byrne (UCD/Leinster)

9 Hugh O’Sullivan (Clontarf/Leinster)

1 James French (UCC/Munster)

2 Diarmuid Barron (Garryowen/Munster)

3 Jack Aungier (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)

4 Matthew Dalton (Malone/Ulster)

5 Jack Dunne (Dublin University/Leinster)

6 Joe Dunleavy Malone(/Ulster)

7 Matthew Agnew (Ballymena/Ulster)

8 Caelan Doris (St. Mary’s College/Leinster, captain)

Replacements:16 Dan Sheehan (Dublin University/Leinster), 17 Jordan Duggan (Naas/Leinster), 18 Joe Byrne (Dublin University/Leinster), 19 Charlie Ryan (UCD/Leinster), 20 Aaron Hall (Ballynahinch/Ulster), 21 Jonny Stewart (Queen’s University/ Ulster), 22 Conor Dean (St. Mary’s College/Leinster), 23 Sean O’Brien (Clontarf/Leinster).


Ireland’s World Rugby U20 Championship Fixtures:

Wednesday 30th May: v France, 20.00 (BST), Perpignan

Sunday 3rd June: v South Africa, 15.30 (BST), Narbonne

Thursday 7th June: v Georgia, 17.30 (BST), Narbonne

Leave a Response

Related Articles




Back to top