Argentina awarded 2019 World Rugby U20 Championships

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

Argentina will host the 2019 World Rugby U20 Championship after World Rugby awarded it to them earlier this week.


They last hosted the competition back in 2010, where New Zealand were champions, winning their third title of what would be four in a row.


Next year, as in 2010, Rosario and Santa Fe will be the host cities. Argentina will have a high seeding, they are guaranteed a high finish this year after beating Wales in their 5th-8th place semi final, they face Australia at 1pm (BST) in Beziers in this year’s 5th place play off.


It will be the first time the tournament has left Europe since it was hosted by New Zealand in 2014, where England won their second title, with Italy, England, and Georgia hosting in 2015, ’16, and ’17, and this year’s competition taking place in France.


On awarding the 2019 tournament to Argentina, World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont said:


“I am delighted to announce that Argentina will host the 2019 edition of the World Rugby U20 Championship, Argentina is a passionate rugby nation and we are impressed with their plans to provide an outstanding environment for teams and a strong legacy programme.”


“We look forward to working in partnership with the Unión Argentina de Rugby to deliver what I am sure will be a very special and successful championship.”


Beaumont’s colleague and World Rugby Vice-Chairman Agustin Pichot, a legend of Argentina rugby, added:


“The World Rugby U20 Championship is a special tournament that plays an important role for players, match officials, fans and hosts alike. There is always a close bond between the hosts and the teams and I look forward to my country welcoming the next generation of test stars, their unions and fans with open arms, especially coming so soon after we host the Buenos Aires Youth Olympic Games 2018 in October.”


2018 World Rugby U20 Championship Finals Day Fixtures (All times BST), Sunday 17th June:


Ireland v Japan – 11th Place Play Off – 10am, Beziers

Scotland v Georgia – 9th Place Play Off – 12.30pm, Beziers

Argentina v Australia – 5th Place Play Off – 1pm, Beziers

Wales v Italy – 7th Place Play Off – 3pm, Beziers

South Africa v New Zealand – 3rd Place Play Off – 3.30pm, Beziers

England v France – Final – 6pm, Beziers

Leave a Response

Related Articles

Back to top