2018/19 Premiership Rugby Cup Breakthrough Player Award

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

James Grayson has been named the 2018/19 Premiership Rugby Cup Breakthrough Player Award.


In a public vote the Northampton Saints fly half came out on top, following the likes of Jonny May, Jack Nowell, Tom Collins, and last year’s winner, Adam Radwan.


The former Northampton School for Boys and Moulton College star beat competition in the form of second placed Ted Hill of Worcester Warriors and third placed Tom Willis of Wasps, with Sale Sharks’ Arron Reed, Bath’s Josh Bayliss, Harlequins’ Gabriel Ibitoye, Exeter Chiefs’ Josh Caulfield, and the Saracens trio of Tom Whiteley, Joel Kpoku, and Matt Gallagher.


Each round a forward and back were shortlisted, with two wildcards added at the end of the tournament to create the full ten man shortlist.


Of those on the shortlist, Hill, Reed, Willis, and Kpoku are currently starring for England in the U20 6 Nations, while Bayliss, Gallagher, Ibitoe, Caulfield, and Grayson himself have also starred for the age-grade side, while Whiteley, has skippered Saracens through the campaign and looks primed for more 1st XV action next season.


2019 Premiership Rugby Cup Breakthrough Players Award Shortlist:


Josh Bayliss (Bath)

James Grayson (Northampton Saints) – Winner

Ted Hill (Worcester Warriors) – 2nd Place

Arron Reed (Sale Sharks)

Tom Willis (Wasps) – 3rd Place

Tom Whiteley (Saracens)

Joel Kpoku (Saracens)

Gabriel Ibitoye (Harlequins)

Josh Caulfield (Exeter Chiefs)

Matt Gallagher (Saracens)

Leave a Response

Related Articles

Back to top