U19 International: Wales and Scotland to meet on Sunday

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

Scotland U19 and Wales U19 meet at Ystrad Mynach on Sunday at 2pm for a one off international ahead of the major age-grade international season over Christmas.


Scotland are coached by former Grand Slam winner Sean Lineen, who has named a 23 man squad consisting of 13 forwards and 10 backs after a recent two day training camp.


Gareth Williams is the Wales U20 Head Coach and will be taking charge of this U19 side, and commented to www.wru.wales on the game, saying:


“Although not a fully-fledged international, this game gives us an opportunity to run the rule over a number of new players to this type of environment, as this game is an extension of our U20s preparation, we view the game more like a ‘training’ international where players get an opportunity to taste international rugby. In a wider sense, we have a big season coming up with the Six Nations and a World Rugby U20 Championship to look forward so it’s important these boys hit the ground running.”


Both sides have named plenty of English based players, including Millfield’s Dan John at full back for Wales. John is joined in the starting lineup for Wales by former Hampton flanker Gwilym Bradley, while on the Welsh bench is Eastbourne College’s Theo Bevacqua and Ealing Trailfinders’ Dan Hiscocks.


Scotland meanwhile have Sedbergh’s Tom Lanni among their backs, along with Durham University’s Harry Mercer and Cameron Furley of Nottingham University. The forwards pack contains Hartpury College’s Cameron Cobbett and Henley College’s Mason Nicholls.


Wales U19 v Scotland U19 – Sunday, 2pm, Ystrad Mynach



15 Dan John (Millfield)

14 Ewan Rosser (Dragons)

13 Bradley Roderick (Ospreys)

12 Aneurin Owen (Dragons, vc)

11 Jake Thomas (Cardiff Blues)

10 Jacob Beetham (Cardiff Blues)

9 Ethan Lloyd (Cardiff Blues)

1 Dylan Bartlett (Dragons)

2 Brodie Coglan (Dragons)

3 Harri O’Connor (Scarlets)

4 Ben Carter (Dragons)

5 Teddy Williams (Cardiff Blues, captain)

6 Travis Huntley (Ospreys)

7 Gwilym Bradley (Exiles)

8 Morgan Strong (Ospreys)


16 Rhodri King (Scarlets)

17 Theo Bevacqua (Exiles)

18 Lewys Jones (Ospreys)

19 Rhys Thomas (Ospreys)

20 Cai Davies (Swansea University)

21 Dan Hiscocks (Ealing)

22 Joe Hawkins (Ospreys)

23 Callum Williams (Scarlets)




Robbie Simpson (Edinburgh Accies)

Scott Clelland (Ayr RFC)

Dan Gamble (Heriot’s Rugby)

Cole Lamberton (Edinburgh Accies)

George Breese (Stirling Wolves)

Ben Mace (Stirling Wolves)

Jamie Campbell (Biggar RFC)

Mason Nicholls (Henley College)

Euan Ferrie (Hamilton Bulls)

Harri Morris (Southern Knights)

Rory Jackson (Ayrshire Bulls)

Josh King (Stirling County)

Cameron Cobbett (Hartpury College)


Finn McIlwraith (Heriot’s Blues)

Cameron Lessels (Currie Chieftains)

Euan Cunningham (Stirling County)

Harry Mercer (Durham University)

Scott King (Heriot’s Rugby)

Matthew Currie (Watsonians)

Tom Lanni (Sedbergh)

Jordan Craig (GHA)

Nathan Sweeney (Southern Knights)

Cameron Furley (Nottingham University)

Leave a Response

Related Articles




Back to top