UPDATED – England U17: Squads named for North/South U17 Festival

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

England have named their squads for the upcoming U17 North/South Festival at the end of the month.


In all 48 players have been selected, 24 in the North squad and 24 in the South squad for the three day training camp from Friday 28th February to Sunday 1st March. The training camp takes place in Bristol and will feature a North v South game at 11am on Sunday 1st March at North Bristol RFC.


The squad follows the recent announcement of the England U18 training squad, the bulk of whom will make up the group that competes in the forthcoming U18 6 Nations Festival in April.


Across the two U17 squads, all fourteen regional academies are represented, with Wasps by far and away the most represented. Seven of their players are in the squad, RGS High Wycombe’s Ollie Dawkins, City of Oxford College’s Greg Fisilau, Harrow’s Reketi Ma’asi-White, Merchant Taylors’ Aaron Florestein, and Alfie Bell of King Henry VIII Coventry in the North Squad, while in the South Squad they are represented by Shiplake College’s Fyn Brown, and Rugby’s Kofi Cripps.


Alfie Bell is one of two King Henry VIII Coventry players in the squad, his schoolmate Tom Miles represents Worcester Warriors in the South squad. In total 39 schools and AASE colleges are represented in the squad, Stamford were the most represented through Leicester Tigers trio Cormac Calnan, Seb Smith, and Phil Tandoh, however Calnan has since had to be replaced in the squad. Oakham’s Henry Joule and Brooksby Melton College’s Jake Sterland are Tigers’ two other representatives.


Yorkshire Carnegie have five players in the squad, the second most, and see Woodhouse Grove pair Freddy Clark and New Hawker joined by Hymers College’s Ben Copley and St Peter’s York’s Olly Tomalin in the North, while in the South Rishworth’s Tom Parkin is selected.


Among the other schools with multiple representatives are Harrow and Epsom College, Harrow have Ma’asi-White in the North and London Irish’s Henry Arundle in the South, while Epsom College’s representatives are both in the South in the form of Harlequins pair Tom Lynagh and Kitan Ojo. They are two of four original Quins representatives, all in the South, Seaford College’s Nathan Jibulu is also included, however Whitgift’s Connor Slevin is sadly no longer available having been in the original squad a fortnight ago.


From an AASE perspective, four Colleges have multiple representatives. Beechen Cliff have Bath pair Mackenzie Graham and Jasper Sandler included, while Hartpury College have Gloucester’s Morgan Adderley-Jones and Will Cusack and London Irish’s Mikey Summerfield. Bailey Williams and Milo Hallam will represent Truro College and Stourport High School see their Worcester Warriors pair of Fin Thomas and Toby Wilson selected.


Worcester, like Harlequins, have four players in the squad, Tom Miles and Ellesmere College’s Ben Rowley being the others. Saracens also have four players in the squad, all in the South, Ravens Wood’s Kaden Pearce-Paul, Haileybury’s Ehimen Osebor, Watford Grammar’s Tobias Elliott, and Oaklands College’s Zack Hill.


London Irish and Newcastle Falcons are the only other sides with four players in the squad, Bath and Exeter Chiefs come close with three each. While Bristol Bears and Northampton Saints have two and Gloucester and Sale Sharks have one each. The Exiles see all four of their players selected in the South squad, the aforementioned Arundle of Harrow and Summerfield on Hartpury College, as well as Hampton Jesper Hartikainen and Wellington College fly half Monty Bradbury. Newcastle meanwhile see RGS Newcastle’s Mark Dormer, Durham’s Ewan Greenlaw, Barnard Castle’s star flanker Guy Pepper, and Gosforth Academy’s Ben Douglas all selected.


England U17 Training Squads


North – Coached by Andy Dawling (Saracens) & Alex Guest (Gloucester):


Morgan Adderley-Jones (Gloucester & Hartpury College)

Emeka Atunya (Northampton Saints & Northampton School for Boys)

Alfie Bell (Wasps & King Henry VIII, Coventry)

Freddy Clark (Yorkshire Carnegie & Woodhouse Grove)

Ben Copley (Yorkshire Carnegie & Hymers College)

Will Cusack (Gloucester & Hartpury College)

Ollie Dawkins (Wasps & RGS High Wycombe)

Mark Dormer (Newcastle Falcons & RGS Newcastle)

Ben Douglas (Newcastle Falcons & Gosforth Academy)

Greg Fisalau (Wasps & City of Oxford College)

Aaron Florestein (Wasps & Merchant Taylors’)

Ewan Greenlaw (Newcastle Falcons & Durham)

Ned Hawker (Yorkshire Carnegie & Woodhouse Grove)

Henry Joule (Leicester Tigers & Oakham)

Rekeiti Ma’asi-White (Wasps & Harrow)

Guy Pepper (Newcastle Falcons & Barnard Castle)

Seb Smith (Leicester Tigers & Stamford)

Jasper Spandler (Bath & Beechen Cliff)

Jake Sterland (Leicester Tigers & Brooksby Melton College)

Phil Tandoh (Leicester Tigers & Stamford)

Nye Thomas (Sale Sharks & Liverpool College)

Fin Thomas (Worcester Warriors & Stourport HS)

Olly Tomalin (Yorkshire Carnegie & St Peter’s, York)

Toby Wilson (Worcester Warriors & Stourport HS)


South – Coached by Tom Harrison (Leicester Tigers) & James Craig (Northampton Saints):


Tom Ahl (Bath & Dauntsey’s)

Henry Arundle (London Irish & Harrow)

Monty Bradbury (London Irish & Wellington College)

Fyn Brown (Wasps & Shiplake College)

Kofi Cripps (Wasps & Rugby)

Tobias Elliott (Saracens & Watford GS)

Kian Gentry (Exeter Chiefs & Exeter College)

Mackenzie Graham (Bath & Beechen Cliff)

Milo Hallam (Exeter Chiefs & Truro College)

Jesper Hartikainen (London Irish & Hampton)

Zack Hill (Saracens & Oaklands College)

Geordie Irvine (Northampton Saints & Oundle)

Nathan Jibulu (Harlequins & Seaford College)

Matty Jones (Bristol Bears & SGS Filton College)

Tom Lynagh (Harlequins & Epsom College)

Tom Miles (Worcester Warriors & King Henry VIII, Coventry)

Kitan Ojo (Harlequins & Epsom College)

Ehimen Osebor (Saracens & Haileybury)

Tom Parkin (Yorkshire Carnegie & Rishworth)

Kaden Pearce-Paul (Saracens & Ravens Wood)

Dylan Power (Bristol Bears & Colston’s)

Ben Rowley (Worcester Warriors & Ellesmere College)

Mikey Summerfield (London Irish & Hartpury College)

Bailey Williams (Exeter Chiefs & Truro College)

Leave a Response

Related Articles

Back to top