2013 Rosslyn Park National Schools Sevens groups revealed

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

The draw for the 2013 Rosslyn Park National Schools Sevens was made today, with the Open, Festival, Colts, Girls and Juniors all drawn.

In the Open tournament last year, Coleg Sir Gar powered their way to victory over Whitgift to lift the Open trophy. Sir Gar find themselves in Group A this year, with a potentially tricky game against Bicton College.

Group H also looks a tough group too, with 2011 winners and 2010 finalists, Filton College, set to face Ivbridge and Woodhouse Grove.

Serial winners Millfield (13 times unbelievably) are in Group L and will be confident of qualifying with relative ease, though a tricky test against Old Swinford Hospital will need to be negotiated.

Sedbergh and Moulton are paired in an exciting looking Group M, while down at the bottom of the draw in Group U are last years finalists Whitgift who will be feeling good about their chances of progress again this season.

The Festival last year saw some of the most well known rugby schools in the country come together in the knockout stage, with Wellington College, Stowe, Bryanston and Tonbridge all meeting in the semi finals before Wellington eventually beat Bryanston in the final to lift the trophy.

As such, Wellington are in Group A where they will face a tricky early tie against St Peter’s York. This talented squad ought to make it through without too much trouble though.

Their 2012 semi final opponents Stowe are in Group B, while Group C could be one of the most competitive of all with Hymers, Dean Close, Shiplake and Canford all competitive.

Group F though tops even that, with every team in the group looking perfectly capable of topping it, in Bradford Grammar, Cheltenham, Ellesmere, King’s Worcester and Uppingham it contains some of the most prestigious rugby names in the country.

Dulwich College  are in Group K, though their chances of progress will depend on their continued Daily Mail Cup exploits you suspect.

St Joseph’s, Rugby and Espom find themselves in a tricky Group N while fifteen a side pace setters Marlborough are the favourites for Group T.

Groups V and W are simply bubbling with talent as Tonbridge and Barnard Castle are paired in V, while W features Colston’s, Durham, St Edward’s Oxford, and Bedford Modern.


X too is a mesmerizing group with Sherborne and Shrewsbury faced with the daunting challenge of last year’s finalsists Bryanston.

Open & Festival Groups for the 2013 Rossyln Park National School Sevens (Predicted Group Winners in italics):

U18 Boys Open, Thursday 21st March:

Group A: Bicton College, Coleg Sir Gar, East Norfolk 6th Form College, Isleworth & Syon school, Nottingham High

Group B: Bablake, Barry Comprehensive, Greenhill School, Hartpury College, RGS Newcastle

Group C: Kirkham Grammar, London Oratory, Robert Clack, Tasker Milward, USA High School All American.

Group D: King John, The Leventhorpe, UCS, Wimbledon College, Ysgol Gyfun Gwyr

Group E: Cardinal Newman, Chislehurst & Sidcup, Emanuel, Hurstpierpoint College, Llandovery College

Group F: Leicester Grammar, Judd, King’s Macclesfield, Windsor, Ysgol Gyfun Bro Myrddin

Group G: City of London Freeman’s, Hertfordshire & Essex High, King Henry VIII Coventry, St. Edwards’ Liverpool

Group H: Ivybridge, Peter Symonds, Filton, Henley, Woodhouse Grove

Group I: Adams Grammar, Cowbridge Comprhensive, Hampton, Millhill, Warwick

Group J: Crosskeys College, Gravesend Grammar, Oaklands College, QEGS Wakefield, Wells Cathedral

Group K: Emanuel School, St. David’s, St. Joseph’s, Stonyhurst, Ysgol Dyffrun Aman

Group L: Exeter College, King Edward VI Grammar Chelmsford, Millfield, Old Swinford Hospital, Ysgol Gyfun Cwm Rhymni

Group M: Moulton College, Pocklington, Richmond Upon Thames College, Sedbergh, Ysgol Gyfun Bro Morgannwg

Group N: Mount St. Mary’s, Neath Port Talbot, St. Benedict’s, Stafford Grammar, Stephenson Studio

Group O: Gower College, Liverpool College, St. Peter’s, Gloucester, Wallington County Grammar, Welbeck DSFC

Group P: Brynteg Comprehensive, Merchiston Castle, Oakham, Peterborough, Manchester Grammar

Group Q: Maidstone Grammar, Rydal Penrhos, St. Cenydd, Wirral Grammar, Worcester Sixth Form College

Group R: Coleg Llandrillo Cymru, Farnborough College, John Fisher, QES Kirkby, Wisbech Grammar

Group S: Bishop Wordsworth, Rougemont, Stockport Grammar, Whitchurch High, Wilmslow High

Group T: Carleton Comprehensive, Newport High, St. Olave’s Grammar, Truro College, Ysgol y Preseli

Group U: Leighton Park, Pembrokeshire College, Treorchy Comprehensive, Whitgift, Ysgol Gyfun Llanhari

U18 Boys Festival, Tuesday 19th March:

Group A: Hills Road, Ibstock Place, Kelly, St. Peter’s York, Wellington College

Group B: British School Al Kubairat, Cleeve, Marling, Sevenoaks, Stowe

Group C: Canford, Dean Close, Hymers, Shiplake, St. Laurence

Group D: Ampleforth, Hereford Cathedral, KES Bath, Trinity Croydon, Wycliffe

Group E: Birkdale, British School Madrid, Chichester High, RGS Lancaster, St. John’s Leatherhead

Group F: Bradford Grammar, Cheltenham, Ellesmere, King’s Worcester, Uppingham

Group G: Aylesbury Grammar, Monmouth, Plymouth, QES Barnet, King’s Canterbury

Group H: Reeds, RGS Guildford, Simon Langton Grammar, Skinners, St. Beed’s

Group I: Duke of York’s RMS, Felsted, Prior Park, Reigate Grammar, Sutton Valence

Group J: Claremont Fan Court, Lord Wandsworth College, RGS Colchester, Taunton School, Wellington School

Group K: Blundell’s, Dulwich, Kingswood, St. John’s Southsea, The Ley’s

Group L: Austin Friar’s, Bromsgrove, Eastbourne, King’s Taunton, Woodbridge

Group M: Bloxham, Downside, Loughborough Grammar, QEH, Radley

Group N: Epsom, Queen’s Taunton, Rugby, St. Joseph’s, Torquay Grammar

Group O: Brighton, Elizabeth College, Eltham, Lincoln Minster, Trent

Group P: Caterham, Christ’s Hospital, Eton, Langley School, St. Columba’s

Group Q: Bedford, Colfe’s, Haileybury, Monkton Combe, Pangbourne

Group R: Claysmore, Cranleigh, King Edward VI Stratford, Richard Hale, Yarm

Group S: Abingdon, Christ College, King’s Bruton, Sir William Borlase’s, The Oratory

Group T: Churcher’s, Denstone, KCS, Marlborough, St. Joseph Williamson’s Mathematical school

Group U: Ashton Park, Berkhamsted, Bourne Grammar, Malvern, Truro School

Group V: Barnard Castle, Bishop’s Stortford College, Framlingham, St. George’s Harpenden, Tonbridge

Group W: Bedford Modern, Colston’s, Durham, RHS, St. Edward’s Oxford

Group X: AKS Arnold, Bryanston, Sherborne, Shrewsbury, Watford Grammar

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top