Scotland name Six Nations training squad


Scotland have named their squad for their pre Six Nations training camp, with their interim Head Coach, Scott Johnson, naming ten uncapped players.

The uncapped players are are full-back Peter Murchie, wings Sean Maitland and Tommy Seymour, centres Alex Dunbar and Peter Horne, scrum-half Sean Kennedy, hooker Pat MacArthur, lock Grant Gilchrist and back-row forwards Ryan Wilson and Chris Fusaro.

All are from Glasgow except for Gilchrist from Edinburgh Rugby. Sean Kennedy comes in at scrum half following the retirement of Mike Blair and injury to Chris Cusiter. Surprisingly though, there is no place for the experience Newcastle Falcon Rory Lawson.

Montpellier Number 8 Johnnie Beattie, son of Scotland legend John Beattie, returns to the squad for the first time since before the World Cup following some impressive form for the French club.

The squad reflects Glasgow’s superior form in the Rabo Direct Pro 12, with nineteen Warrios in the squad compared to just seven from Edinburgh and nine plying their trade abroad.

Worryingly for Scotland fans though, neither Scottish side has won a single game in the Heineken Cup this season, with both sides sitting at the bottom of their Pools. They will be hoping that this form does not transfer to the national side who could do without any further hits following a dismal autumn.

The squad will meet up next week ahead of their first game of the Six Nations, against England at Twickenham on the 2nd February.

Scotland squad for Pre Six Nations training camp:


Peter Murchie, Stuart Hogg, Sean Maitland, Tommy Seymour, Sean Lamont (all Glasgow Warriors), Tim Visser (Edinburgh Rugby), Max Evans (Castres), Matt Scott (Edinburgh Rugby), Alex Dunbar, Peter Horne, Duncan Weir, Ruaridh Jackson (all Glasgow Warriors), Tom Heathcote (Bath Rugby), Henry Pyrgos, Sean Kennedy (both Glasgow Warriors), Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh Rugby).


Alasdair Dickinson (Sale Sharks), Ryan Grant, Dougie Hall, Pat MacArthur (all Glasgow Warriors), Ross Ford (Edinburgh Rugby), Euan Murray (Worcester Warriors), Geoff Cross (Edinburgh Rugby), Moray Low, Alastair Kellock (both Glasgow Warriors), Richie Gray (Sale Sharks), Jim Hamilton (Gloucester), Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby), Kelly Brown (Saracens), Robert Harley, Ryan Wilson (both Glasgow Warriors), Johnnie Beattie (Montpellier), David Denton (Edinburgh Rugby), Richie Vernon (Sale Sharks), Chris Fusaro (Glasgow Warriors).

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top