Saxons and Wolfhounds name sides for tomorrow’s clash

England and Ireland have named their ‘A’ squads for their fixture in Galway tomorrow night.

The England Saxons have named Jordan Crane as their skipper, the Leicester Tiger will lead the side form number 8, while his club mate George Ford will be directing proceedings from fly half.

Rugby League convert Joel Tompkins will start the game at outside centre having made an excellent start to Union life with Saracens. Another rugby league convert, Kyle Eastmond, is one the bench having impressed for Bath since his switch of code.

Wasps starlet Elliot Daly starts in unfamiliar territory at full back, but he will be joined in the back three by his clubmate Christian Wade.

It is an experienced looking Saxons 23 though, with six full internationals in the team side; Crane, Matt Mullan (Worcester Warriors), Paul Doran Jones (Northampton Saints), Joe Simpson (London Wasps), Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins) and Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens).

The Irish Wolfhounds squad has a lot of experience too fourteen full internationals in the squad including Andrew Trimble on the wing with forty nine caps.

Joining him on the other wing is Luke Fitzgerald who is looking to work his way back into the Ireland team, while Brian O’Driscoll’s heir elect, Darren Cave, starts at outside centre.

The half backs make interesting reading, with Ulster duo Paddy Jackson and Paul Marshall looking to press their claims for full international recognition, Marshall keeps Isaac Boss on the bench, despite his 15 international caps.

The Wolfhounds, like the Saxons, are led from the base of the scrum, with Munsterman James Coughlin skippering the side.

This is the Wolfhounds only fixture through the Six Nations period, the Saxons however will play Scotland A at Kingston Park next Friday.

Irish Wolfhounds v England Saxons – Kick Off  Friday 19.35, Galway Sports Ground.

England Saxons:

15 Elliot Daly (London Wasps),
14 Christian Wade (London Wasps),
13 Joel Tomkins (Saracens),
12 Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins),
11 Tom Biggs (Bath Rugby),
10 George Ford (Leicester Tigers),
9 Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens);
1 Nick Wood (Gloucester Rugby),
2 Joe Gray (Harlequins),
3 Paul Doran-Jones (Northampton Saints),
4 Graham Kitchener (Leicester Tigers),
5 George Robson (Harlequins),
6 George Kruis (Saracens),
7 Will Fraser (Saracens),
8 Jordan Crane (Leicester Tigers, captain).

Replacements: 16 Rob Buchanan (Harlequins),
17 Matt Mullan (Worcester Warriors),
18 Shaun Knight (Gloucester Rugby),
19 Ed Slater (Leicester Tigers),
20 Jamie Gibson (London Irish),
21 Joe Simpson (London Wasps),
22 George Lowe (Harlequins),
23 Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby).

Irish Wolfhounds:

15 Robbie Henshaw (Connacht),
14 Andrew Trimble (Ulster),
13 Darren Cave (Ulster),
12 Dave McSharry (Connacht),
11 Luke Fitzgerald (Leinster),
10 Paddy Jackson (Ulster),
9 Paul Marshall (Ulster);
1 David Kilcoyne (Munster),
2 Mike Sherry (Munster),
3 Michael Bent (Leinster),
4 Lewis Stevenson (Ulster)
5 Devin Toner (Leinster),
6 Kevin McLaughlin (Leinster),
7 Tommy O’Donnell (Munster),
8 James Coughlin (Munster, captain).

Replacements: 16 Damien Varley (Munster),
17 Tom Court (Ulster),
18 Declan Fitzpatrick (Ulster),
19 Iain Henderson (Ulster),
20 Rhys Ruddock (Leinster),
21 Isaac Boss (Leinster),
22 Ian Madigan (Leinster),
23 Ian Keatley (Munster).

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top