Worcester stick with the school leavers for JP Morgan Finals


The squads have been named for finals day of the JP Morgan Premiership Rugby 7s series, with most teams opting to add a touch more experience to their squads following the youthful looking group stages.

There is still a fair smattering of youth, however the distinctly schoolboy flavour that many brought to the groups has been swapped for those just a little nearer to first team status.

One exception to that trend though are the Worcester Warriors who have retained both of their former King’s School Worcester, and Fifteen Rugby ‘All Stars’, Andrew Boyce and George De Cothi in their squad, both of whom impressed at Kingsholm last week. They also retain former Dean Close star Tiff Eden.

Another player to keep an eye on in Saracens’ Nick Tompkins the young outside centre was one of the stars of the season for Oaklands College, Saracens U18 and England U18 last year and showed some outstanding sevens form as part of the Oaklands squad that won the Surrey 7s in March.

The finals take place at The Rec in Bath from 7pm on Friday with crowds of at least 7,500 expected, with more likely to buy their tickets on the night.

One player that those young schoolboys from the 2012/13 will be looking up to whilst playing in the JP Morgan 7s finals will be Harlequins’ Jack Clifford.

The young back row led the England U20s to their first ever JWC success this in June, having previously been in the England U18 set up. He is now on the cusp of breaking into the Harelquins first team and will be a shining example to those players that are even younger than him on Friday.


Newcastle Falcons: Harrison Collins, Ben Morris, Richard Mayhew, Glen Young, Michael Tait, Tom Catterick, Chris York, Warren Fury (c), Andy Davies, Joel Hodgson, Sean Brown, Simon Hammersley.

Leicester Tigers: David Williams, Jake Farnworth, Steve Wood, Ollie Turton, James Thomas, Stef Jones, Rhodri Davis, Steff Andrews, George Tresidder, Tahir El Mahdi, Scott Steele (c), Harry Thacker.

Gloucester Rugby: Martyn Thomas (c), Jonny Hill, Will Hayward, Akapusi Qera, Andrew Bulumakau, Matt Cox, Nevaro Codlin, Gareth Evans, Rhodri McAtee, Billy Burns, Steph Reynolds, Drew Cheshire.

Harlequins: Miles Mantella, Dave Ward (c), Patrice Agunda, Harry Sloan, Jeremy Manning, Joe Trayfoot, Sam Arnold, Jack Clifford, Jordan Burns, Louis Grimoldby, Steve Hamilton, Charlie Walker.

Worcester Warriors: Richard de Carpentier (c), Cameron Goodhue, Andrew Boyce, James Stephenson, Paul Hodgson, Tom Chapman, Tiff Eden, Max Stelling, Rhys Owen, Ben Howard, Reece Chapman-Carry, George de Cothi,

Saracens: Eoin Sherrif, Jack Wilson, Scott Spurling
, Tim Streather, Nils Mordt, Nick Tompkins, Aaron Morris, Ben Ransom, Luke Baldwin, Michael Tagicakibau, Sam Stanley, Matt Hankin.


Game 1: Worcester Warriors v Leicester Tigers

Game 2: Gloucester Rugby v Newcastle Falcons

Game 3: Leicester Tigers v Harlequins

Game 4: Newcastle Falcons v Saracens

Game 5: Worcester Warriors v Harlequins

Game 6: Gloucester Rugby v Saracens

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top