Saracens Storm & Worcester Cavaliers reach A League final

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

The Aviva A league final will take place on Monday 12th January at Sixways Stadium with Worcester Cavaliers hosting Saracens Storm.

The two sides progressed to the final after thrilling semi final victories over Bath United and Newcastle Falcons A on Monday night.

Both sides won by eleven points in brilliantly high scoring affairs. Worcester saw off a youthful and exciting Bath United side with a 37-26 victory that saw the hosts score five tries through Josh Drauiniu, Mat Gilbert, Charlie Mulchron, James Percival, and Leonardo Senatore.

Bath had their chances and scored three of their own, through Rich Lane, Ollie Woodburn, and Marcus Beer, however poor discipline saw them receive three yellow cards, handing the advantage to the Cavaliers, who grabbed their place in the final.

Maro Itoje led Saracens Storm to a brilliant 46-35 victory over Newcastle Falcons at Allianz Park, a game that was definitely one for the attack coaches, rather than the defensive ones.

Saracens scored an impressive seven tries, with Mike Ellery grabbing the headlines with a brace, while Newcastle secured a not unimpressive five of their own under the stewardship of former Saracens man Andy Saull at openside.

It all suggests that we should see an exciting and open game at Sixways on Monday evening, both sides try to mix youth and experience in their A league line ups, and hopefully a good youthful theme will remain when there is a trophy play for.

Aviva A League Final – Worcester Cavaliers v Saracens Storm – Sixways, Monday 12th January, 19.30 KO.

A League Semi Final Results:

Saracens Storm 46-35 Newcastle Falcons A

Worcester Cavaliers 37-26 Bath United


Saracens Storm:

15. Ben Ransom;  14. Mike Ellery,  13. Tim Streather,  12. Thretton Palamo,  11. Catalin Fercu;  10. Nils Mordt,  9. Ben Spencer;  1. Richard Barrington,  2. Jared Saunders,  3. Biyi Alo,  4. Maro Itoje (c),  5. Nick de Jager,  6. Hayden Thompson-Stringer,  7. Matt Hankin,  8. Ernst Joubert.

Replacements:  16. Josh Taylor,  17. Jack Culverhouse,  18. Ben Feathertone.  19. Jack Tredrea,  20. Kennett O’Neill,  21. Tom Whiteley,  22. Max Wilkins,  23. George Perkins,  24. Max Malins.

Newcastle Falcons A:

15. Brett Connon, 14. Pete Weightman, 13. Tom Penny, 12. Rory Clegg, 11. Dan Temm, 10. Phil Godman, 9. Andy Davies; 1.Alex Rogers, 2. Rob Hawkins, 3. Mark Irving, 4. Scott MacLeod, 5. Will Witty, 6. Ben Morris, 7. Andy Saull (c), 8. Chris York.

Replacements: 16. Andrew Dunn 17. Adam Brocklebank 18. Harry Snowden 19. Brian Tuilagi 20. Dan Taylor 21. James Christie.

Worcester Cavaliers:

15 Ben Howard 14 James Stephenson 13 Alex Grove 12 Ravai Fatiaki 11 Josh Drauniniu 10 Ignacio Mieres 9 JB Bruzulier (c) 1 Ofa Fainga’anuku 2 Niall Annett 3 Mike Daniels 4 James Percival 5 Dan Sanderson 6 Rich de Carpentier 7 Mat Gilbert 8 Leonardo Senatore.

Replacements: 16 Ben Sowrey 17 Ryan Bower 18 Alex Gordas 19 Shay Kerry 20 Andrew Boyce 21 Charlie Mulchrone 22 Robbie Keith 23 Perry Humphreys.

Bath United:

1 Beno Obano 2 Tom Dunn 3 Kane Palma-Newport 4 Tom Ellis 5 Charlie Ewels (c) 6 Max Northcote-Green 7 Guy Mercer 8 David Sisi 9 Will Homer 10 Rory Jennings 11 Darren Atkins 12 Max Clark 13 Olly Woodburn 14 Rich Lane15 Ed Coulson.

Replacements: 16 Tom Woolstencroft 17 Matt Shields 18 Dan Keat 19 Charlie Davey 20 Matt Koep 21 Micky Young 22 Ludi Hopkinson 23 Marcus Beer.

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles




Back to top