Shiplake College 7s draw revealed


The draw for the 2015 Shiplake College 7s has been made, with twelve top schools competing.

The competition takes place this Sunday, 1st February, with Hurstpierpoint College the reigning champions following their success in 2013 as the 2014 edition of the competition had to be cancelled due to the weather.

Hurstpierpoint face a tough challenge in retaining that trophy though, with Cheltenham College and St Edward’s to oust from Group D before the even turn to the semi finals.

Lurking in Group A are one of the favourites for the National Schools 7s title at Rosslyn Park, Wellington College. Wellington are grouped with Radley College and Caterham.

Hosts Shiplake reside in Group C, where they will face the formidable challenge of Bedford, always a threat with ball in hand, and Abingdon, who enjoyed a superb fifteen-a-side season.

Over in Group B Denstone College are possibly just favourites to finish top of the group, however Champions Trophy semi finalists Oakham, and the traditionally excellent Bryanston will be out to stop them.

Each side will have a 50/50 chance of lifting silverware. The top side in each group goes through to the Cracknell Cup semi finals (in honour of former England 7s star and Shiplake Old Boy Chris Cracknell), with the winner of each semi competing for the Cracknell Cup in the final and the losers playing in the plate final.

That same process in repeated for teams finishing second in the group, and again for those finishing bottom of the group, meaning that everyone will get four matches under their belt – vital match practice ahead of what will be a competitive 7s season.

Shiplake College 7s – Sunday 1st February

2015 Shiplake College 7s Draw

Group A

Group B

Group C

Group D




 Cheltenham  College

Radley College

Denstone College


Hurstpierpoint College

Wellington College


Shiplake College

St Edward’s School, Oxford

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top