Scotland name U20 side to face Wales


Scotland U20 have named their side to face Wales in Friday’s U20 6 Nations encounter at Netherdale.

Despite a heavy defeat to Ireland last time out, Scotland make just two changes to the starting XV, brining in former Oakham School captain Ruaraidh Smith onto the wing for Harvery Elms, and Neil Irvine-Hess from the bench to the back row in place of the injured Lewis Wynne.

Andrew Davidson comes onto the bench for Irvine-Hess, with Ben Robbins also coming onto the bench, as does the former Millfield prop, Jack Owlett.

Owlett will be playing alongside his former Millfield teammate Alec Coombes, who retains his place in the team and will be Smith’s wing partner. Northampton Saints’ Rory Hutchinson starts again at outside half.

Speaking on the changes to the squad, Head Coach Sean Lineen said:

“We’ve made a few changes, both tactical and due to injuries.

“Some boys have been given a chance to show what they can do at this level, and we hope that they seize their opportunity.

“It’s unfortunate that Lewis [Wynne] and Gary [Robertson] are unavailable for selection, but we know that we have the quality and depth in our ranks to replace them, and the value they hold in the squad.”  

“It’s all part of a learning curve for the players, and there were a lot of lessons learned from our first game of the Championship last week. Now it’s about how we take that experience on board and use it to aid our development as a team.

“We are aware of the strength and threat Wales possess, especially after their good victory over England in their opening match, but we have the talent to really compete.

“It’s also our first home game which will serve as a real boost to the players. You can never underestimate what a home tie can do for a team, especially when the atmosphere is in their favour, so we’re really looking to get a great crowd down at Netherdale to get behind the stars of the future.”

Scotland U20 v Wales U20 – Netherdale, Friday, 17.55, Live on S4C

Scotland U20

15. Ruairi Howarth (Edinburgh Rugby/Gala)

14. Ruaraidh Smith (Currie)

13. Archie Russell (Stirling County)

12. Patrick Kelly (Le Parc)

11. Alec Coombes (London Scottish)

10. Rory Hutchinson (Northampton Saints)

9. George Horne (Glasgow Hawks)

1. Murray McCallum (Aberdeen Grammar Rugby)

2. Ross Graham (Hawick)

3. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors/Glasgow Hawks)

4. Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors/Glasgow Hawks)

5. Lewis Carmichael (Melrose)

6. Neil Irvine-Hess (Melrose)

7. Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby)

8. Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh Rugby/Boroughmuir)


16. Jake Kerr (Edinburgh Rugby/Watsonians)

17. Dan Elkington (Watsonians)

18. Jack Owlett (Exeter University)

19. Andrew Davidson (Glasgow Warriors/Glasgow Hawks)

20. Ally Miller (Edinburgh Rugby/Watsonians)

21. Andrew Manson (Stewart’s Melville FP)

22. Tom Galbraith (Melrose)

23. Ben Robbins (Edinburgh Rugby/Watsonians)

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top