Wales name U20 side to face Scotland on Friday night


Wales U20 have named their side to face Scotland at the home of Gala, Netherdale, at 17.55 on Friday.

Wales beat England U20 on the weekend, a surprise for many, however despite that they have still made a couple of changes, though with captain Rory Thornton being allowed to play for the Ospreys that one may have been taken out of their hands. Adam Beard replaces him, with Ollie Griffiths, man of the match v England, captaining the side.

Owen Watkin also comes into the side, at centre, with Barney Nightingale on the wing. Watkin, incredibly, is still young enough to play for the U18s, as Head Coach Allan Lewis pointed out when discussing the changes:

“Rory (Thornton) had a fantastic game against England and it is a good opportunity now to play Guinness Pro 12 rugby for the Ospreys.”

“Similarly in the centre, this is a great chance for Owen (Watkin), who is big and skilful and still young enough to play Under 18 international rugby, to see what he can do at this level.”

Wales will be favourites for this one, particularly in light of their victory over England and Scotland’s heavy defeat to France, though Lewis was keen to avoid complacency:

“It was a fantastic win over England. The defence was excellent and we really challenged the opposition. It gave us a good platform to prepare for this week but we are certainly not underestimating Scotland. They will be bruised after a hard defeat in France, but we know they will be physical and out to prove a point, especially at home.”

Scotland U20 v Wales U20 – Friday 13th March, Netherdale, 17.55, Live S4C

Dafydd Howells (Ospreys); Joshua Adams (Scarlets), Owen Watkin (Ospreys), Garyn Smith (Blues), Barney Nightingale (Dragons); Dan Jones (Scarlets), Tom Williams (Blues); Luke Garrett (Dragons), Liam Belcher (Blues), Dillon Lewis (Blues), Joe Davies (Dragons), Adam Beard (Ospreys), Tom Phillips (Scarlets), Ollie Griffiths (Dragons), Harrison Keddie (Dragons).

Replacements: Torin Myhill (Scarlets), Keagan Bale (Dragons), Leon Brown (Dragons), Rory Bartle (Gloucester), Jordan Viggers (Blues), Kieran Hardy (Scarlets), James Whittingham (Blues), Rhys Williams (Leicester Tigers).

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top