Scotland U18 name side to face Ireland


Head Coach, Eddie Pollock, has made eight changes to the Scotland U18 side to play their Irish counterparts in their final match of the U18 European Championships.

The game is a play-off for seventh place, with both sides having lost their opening two matches.

The last time the two sides met, a fortnight ago, Scotland  recorded a 21-13 victory at Mayfield, Dundee, scoring two tries from Matt Fagerson and Robbie Nairn, both who are reinstated for tomorrow’s tie.

The half-back pairing of Charlie Shiel and Stowe’s Gregor Haldane slot in at scrum-half and stand-off, at the expense of Andrew Simmers and Blair Kinghorn, respectively.

Darcy Graham drops out of the starting XV, as Ross McCann switches to the right wing berth and Nairn returns to the left flank.

Two changes have been implemented in the back-row as Fagerson and and Abingdon’s Michael Dewar start at blindside and openside, as per the opening game of the tournament against France.

Further changes to the packs sees Adam Nicol replace Fergus Bradbury at tighthead prop, Sedbergh’s Jack Solman take the place of Fraser Renwick at hooker, and Hartpury College’s Alexander Craig move up from the back-row to take the spot of Luke Crosbie in the boiler room.  

Scotland U18 XV:

15 Saul Melvin-Farr (Edinburgh Academy/Edinburgh Academicals)

14 Ross McCann (Royal High School/RHC Cougars)

13 Craig Pringle (Loretto School/Melrose)

12 Grant Huggan (Hawick Wanderers)

11 Robbie Nairn (George Watson’s College/Currie)

10 Gregor Haldane (Stowe School/Northampton Saints)

9   Charlie Shiel (Royal High School/RHC Cougars)

1 George Thornton (Moulton College/Market Harborough)

2 Jack Solman (Sedbergh School)

3 Adam Nicol (Queen Anne High School/Dunfermline)

4 Alexander Craig (Hartpury College/Glucester)

5 Callum Hunter-Hill (Stewart’s Melville)

6 Matthew Fagerson (Strathallan School)

7 Michael Dewar (Abingdon School/Wasps)

8 Bruce Flockhart (Strathallan School/Highland)


16 Fraser Renwick (Hawick High School/Hawick Wanderers)

17 Fergus Bradbury (Merchiston Castle School)

18 Blair Robertson (Kelso Harlequins)

19 Hamish Bain (George Watson’s College/Currie)

20 Luke Crosbie (Currie)

21 Andrew Simmers (Glasgow Academy/Glasgow Hawks)

22 Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Academy/Edinburgh Academicals)

23 Alastair Greig (Stewart’s Melville College/Stewart’s Melville FP)

24 Darcy Graham (Hawick High School/Hawick Wanderers)

25 Connor Eastgate (Henley College/Wasps)

26 Thomas Gordon (Currie)

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top