England Counties U18 name side for Festival finale

England Counties U18 have named their side for the International Triangular Festival decider against Irish Clubs U18 at Harptury College on Saturday at 11.00.

There are nine changes from the side that beat a France U18 XV 7-5 at the weekend. The Sandbach duo of John Whittaker and Owen MacCuish come into the front row, with St Peter’s Gloucester tighthead Ciaran Knight also coming in.

The Oratory’s Cameron Gray starts in the second row, with Justin Roland of George Abbot School starting at openside, and Worcester 6th form College’s Max Hill starting at number 8.

In the backline Aaron Martin, Bilton School, comes in at outside centre, with James Shillcock of Warwick moving from outside half to inside centre, with St Paul’s Jacob Atkins coming in at fly half.

Fergus Wood of Ardingly College comes in at full back, with QEGS Penrith’s James Spencer switching from full back to left wing. Mylers Bean retains his place on the right wing, with Newcastle School for Boys’ Ruaraidh Dawson starting at scrum half.

Myerscough College’s Joe Duffy keeps his place at blindside after his man of the match display last time out, with Runshaw College’s John MacKenzie also keeping his place in the team, captaining the side from the second row again.

England Counties U18 v Ireland Clubs U18 – Hartpury College, Saturday, 11.00

England Counties U18

15. Fergus Wood (Ardingly College)

14. Myles Bean (King Edward VI School)

13. Aaron Martin (Bilton)

12. James Shillcock (Warwick)

11. James Spencer (QEGS Penrith)

10. Jacob Atkins (St Paul’s)

9. Ruaridh Dawson (Newcastle School for Boys)

1. John Whittaker (Sandbach)

2. Owen MacCuish (Sandbach)

3. Ciaran Knight (St Peter’s, Gloucester)

4. John MacKenzie (captain, Runshaw College)

5. Cameron Gray (The Oratory)

6. Joe Duffy (Myerscough College)

7. Justin Rowland (George Abbot)  

8. Max Hill (Worcester Sixth Form College)

Replacements: Harrison Berresford (Hautlieu), Tom Doughty (St Bartholomews), Jack Conteh (Myerscough College), Josh Novell (Bede’s), Matt Palphreyman (Wirral Grammar School), Dylan Morris (Reed’s), Will Newett (Grammar School at Leeds), Connor Hayhow (St Paul’s), Ben Usher (The Priory Academy)

Back to top