Ireland Clubs U18 set up decider with England Counties U18

Ireland U18 Clubs started their International Triangular Festival campaign off with a bang, beating a France U18 XV 18-10 at Hartpury College.

That leaves France with two defeats from their two games, having lost to England Counties U18 at the weekend as well.

Those results mean that the England Counties U18 v Ireland Clubs U18 fixtue at 11.00 on Saturday, at Hartpury College again, will be the Festival decider.

The Irish took advantage of a strong wind early on against France, scoring all eighteen points in the opening twenty minutes of the game, a penalty from Ciaran Frawley followed by a try from Conor Farrell, converted by Luke Carty, gave the Irish a 10-0 lead in under fifteen minutes.

Carty then added a penalty to go 13-0 up before the French quickly hit back with a try to narrow things to 13-7.

Paul Boyle then finished up the Irish scoring with their second try, putting them 18-7 ahead, a lead that last through to the half.

Skerries clubman Ciaran Frawley settled the nerves with a third minute penalty and a converted try from captain Conor Farrell, 10 minutes later, kept Wayne Mitchell’s youngsters on course.

With the French then taking advantage of the wind in the second half, they camped in the Irish half, but brilliant defence from the young Irishmen saw them restrict the French to just three second half points, securing an 18-10 victory.

Ireland U18 Clubs 18-10 France U18 XV

Ireland XV

15 Luke Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht)

14 Peter Howard (Cill Dara/Leinster)

13 Conor Nash (Navan/Leinster)

12 Darragh Cummins (Sligo/Connacht)

11 Otto Gray (Canford School/Exiles)

10 Ciaran Frawley (Skerries/Leinster)

9 Niall Saunders (Harlequins/Epsom College/Exiles)

1 Greg McGrath (Wexford Wanderers/Leinster)

2 Tadgh McElroy (Dundalk/Leinster)

3 Jack Aungier (Suttonians/Leinster)

4 Joe Carley (Enniscorthy/Leinster)

5 Jack Regan (Birr/Leinster)

6 Conor Hand (Navan/Leinster)

7 Conor Farrell (Navan/Leinster) (c)

8 Paul Boyle (Gorey/Leinster)

Replacements: Liam Coombes (Skibbereen/Munster), Sean O’Brien (Mullingar/Leinster), Conor Maguire (Boyne/Leinster), Sean Masterson (Portlaoise/Leinster), Alan Fitzgerald (Young Munster/Munster), Eoin Corcoran (Longford/Leinster), Ian McCarthy (Highfield/Munster), Jack Combes (Hartpury College/Exiles), Dominic Gorard (Ealing Trailfinders/St. Benedict’s/Exiles).

Back to top