Newcastle, Worcester, Sale, & Tigers opt for youth for Kingston Park leg of Singha 7s

Leicester Tigers, Newcastle Falcons, Sale Sharks, and Worcester Warriors have all named their squads for Saturday’s leg of the Singha Premiership 7s at Newcastle’s Kingston Park.

Sale have named a particularly young squad, and are led by England U20 scrum half James Mitchell. He is joined by fellow academy man George Nott as well as the likes of Sam James and Mark Jennings from the 1st XV squad.

England 7s player Christian Lewis-Pratt also links up with the squad to lend some real 7s experience. Pete Anglesea takes charge of the young Sale side, and speaking ahead of the game, he said:

“We have a young enthusiastic side who’ll be taking on Leicester, Newcastle & Worcester on Saturday afternoon. Christian Lewis Pratt brings a lot of experience in to the side, but we have a lot of young talent who are looking forward to the challenge.”

Worcester if anything have named an even younger squad. They are captained by Huw Taylor, who is just a year out of school, he was at Old Swinford Hospital. Joining him in the squad is fellow Academy man George De Cothi, once of King’s Worcester, with new Academy products Josh Adams and Perry Humphrey also in the squad.

Also joining in is England U19, England Counties U18, and Warwick School scrum half/fly half, Jamie Shillock, who featured in the Warriors promotion play-off campaign at the tail end of the season.

Academy Manager Mark Hewitt takes charge of the squad, and he said:

“We’re very excited about being the first group to represent the Club back in a Premiership competition. We fared well in 2013 and hope to go far again in this year’s tournament with a young, promising group of players.”

Newcastle Falcons are also heavily dominated by youth. England U18 captain Callum Chick is in the squad, while fellow academy products Joe Craggs, Ruaridh Dawson, and Dan Marshall also get a run out.

Newacstle also have a host of Scots in their line up thanks to links with the Scotland 7s programme thanks to former skills coach Callum MacRae.

Commenting on the squad, coach Mark Laycock said:

“With pre season being prolonged by the delayed start to the season, and a number of key players away on world cup duty, we have had to think carefully about our selection for the sevens. Our young academy lads will get a huge amount from training and playing alongside some vastly experienced players and we are all really looking forward to Saturday.”

Leicester Tigers also follow the youthful outlook. They are led by England U20 hooker Hake Farnworth.

He is joined by fellow academy players in Will Evans, Paolo Odogwu, and Ryan Olowofela, as well as George Nairn and Stone Priestley-Nangle.

Academy assistant manager Askew leads the squad and was full of praise for the academy:

“We’ve got a good group of young players involved this year, including 11 guys who have come right through from the age of 16 at our academy. Jake Farnworth has played in the tournament over the last couple of seasons but it is new to the rest of the group and they’re all looking forward to it.

“In sevens rugby you’re looking for players to show really good basic skills, 100 per cent effort as always and to express themselves, take their opportunities one on one and to be brave enough to look for those opportunities.

“This tournament tests your decision-making under fatigue in a competitive environment and that is important in the development of young players.”

Squads for the Signha Premiership 7s – Kingston Park leg, Saturday 22nd August:

Leicester Tigers:

1 George Nairn

2 Jake Farnworth (c)

3 George Worth

4 Stone Priestley-Nangle

5 Ben Pons

6 Wesley Douglas

7 Will Evans

8 Oliver Povoas

9 Ben White

10 John Hargreaves

11 Paolo Odogwu

12 Ryan Olowofela

Newcastle Falcons:

1. Joe Craggs

2. Scott Riddell

3. Callum Chick

4. Gavin Lowe

5. Scott Wight

6. James Johnstone

7. Dan Marshall

8. Mark Robertson

9. Ruaridh Dawson

10. Joe Nayacavou

11. James Fleming

12. Jamie Farndale

Sale Sharks:

1) Nev Edwards

2) Liam Parfitt

3) Christian Lewis Pratt

4) George Nott

5) Matt Rogerson

6) Charlie Ingall

7) John O’Donnell

8) Sam James

9) James Mitchell (c)

10) Tom Morton

11) Tim Jeffers

12) Mark Jennings

Worcester Warriors:

1. Huw Taylor (C)

2. Dean Hammond

3. Heath Stevens

4. George de Cothi

5. Jamie Shillcock

6. Perry Humphreys

7. Josh Adams

8. Mat Gilbert

9. Jonas Mikallcius

10. Will Butler

11. Ben Fowles

12. Robbie Smith

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top