Singha Premiership Rugby 7s Series: Venues, Dates, and Draws revealed

The dates and venues for this summer’s Singha Premiership Rugby 7s Series have been announced.


The series kicks off at the BT Sport Cardiff Arms Park, where the champions, Newport Gwent Dragons, will face Cardiff Blues, Ospreys, and the Scarlets in Group A on Friday 22nd July.


The next evening attention moves to Exeter and Sandy Park, where Exeter Chiefs host Bath, Wasps, and the promoted Championship side (or London Irish should Bedford win the Championship) in Group B.


The tournament then takes a few days off before kicking off again on Friday 29th July at Franklin’s Gardens, where Harlequins, Saracens, and Gloucester all compete against Northampton Saints in Group C.


The final Pool stage hosts are Newcastle Falcons at Kingston Park on Saturday 30th July. They will face Leicester Tigers, Sale Sharks, and Worcester Warriors.


The series final takes place a week later on Saturday 6th August at Wasps’ Ricoh Arena, where the top two teams from each of the four groups will compete for the Singha Premiership Rugby 7s Series title.


Premiership Rugby’s Rugby Director, Phil Winstanley was characteristically enthusiastic about the tournament, saying:


“The 7s Series kicked off in 2010 and since then it has become a date to look forward to in the rugby calendar, sevens is at its most high profile this year with its return to the Olympics in Rio and Premiership Rugby continues to lead the way when it comes to club 7s.”


“Last year’s final was won with a try in the last second of the final game between Wasps and Newport Gwent Dragons and we can expect this year’s series to be just as exciting.”


Singha Premiership Rugby 7s Series Draw
Group AGroup BGroup CGroup D
Friday 22nd JulySaturday 23rd JulyFriday 29th JulySaturday 20th July
BT Sport Cardiff Arms ParkSandy ParkFranklin’s GardensKingston Park
Cardiff BluesBathNorthampton SaintsLeicester Tigers
Newport Gwent DragonsExeter ChiefsHarlequinsNewcastle Falcons
OspreysPromoted side/London IrishGloucesterSale Sharks
ScarletsWaspsSaracensWorcester Warriors


Series Finals: Saturday 6th August, Ricoh Arena, Coventry

Leave a Response

Related Articles

Back to top