U20 6 Nations: Wales name inexperienced side for title defence opener v Italy

Wales have named a new look side to open their U20 6 Nations title defence this Friday evening.


Twenty players look set to make their debut against Italy in Milan at 18.00 on Friday, with just three of Head Coach Jason Strange’s squad having played for the U20 side before.


Those with prior experience are Newport Gwent Dragons right wing, Jared Rosser, and Cardiff Blues duo Morgan Sieniawski at blindside, and Kieron Assiratti at tighthead.


The team is captained by openside Will Jones from the Ospreys, and includes a few players who are or have been based in England. Gloucester’s former Hartpury College number 8 Morgan Morris completes the back row, while former Solihull speedster Will Talbot-Davies, now at Newport Gwent Dragons, starts on the bench.


Speaking ahead of the game to www.wru.wales Jason Strange said:


“Usually, in your first U20 Six Nations game you’d expect ten or twelve new caps, but we’ve got a particularly young group this year, several of whom will be available next year which makes this Friday a good opportunity to start exposing them to international rugby.”


“They’re tremendously excited about representing their country. It’s a huge honour, which has been reflected in the intensity of their approach to training since coming into camp.”


“We know Italy will pose a real challenge, especially at home, but we’re focusing on producing a strong team performance to start the campaign.”


Wales U20 v Italy U20 – Friday, 18.00, Stadio Giovanni Mari, Milan (Live on S4C)


Wales U20 XV:


15 Will Talbot-Davies (Newport Gwent Dragons)

14 Jared Rosser (Newport Gwent Dragons)

13 Ioan Nicholas (Scarlets)

12 Kieran Williams (Ospreys)

11 Ryan Conbeer (Scarlets)

10 Ben Jones (Cardiff Blues)

9 Dane Blacker (Cardiff Blues)

1 Rhys Carre (Cardiff Blues)

2 Ellis Shipp (Newport Gwent Dragons)

3 Keiron Assiratti (Cardiff Blues)

4 Alex Dombrandt (Cardiff Blues)

5 Max Williams (Newport Gwent Dragons)

6 Morgan Sieniawski (Cardiff Blues)

7 Will Jones (c) (Ospreys)

8 Morgan Morris (Gloucester)


16 Corrie Tarrant (Cardiff Blues)

17 Steff Thomas (Scarlets)

18 Chris Coleman (Newport Gwent Dragons)

19 Jack Pope (Ospreys)

20 Aled Ward (Cardiff Blues)

21 Declan Smith (Scarlets)

22 Phil Jones (Ospreys)

23 Cameron Lewis (Cardiff Blues)

Back to top