U20 6 Nations: Scotland make 1 change as they seek their first 2017 win

Scotland U20 have named their side for their final game of the U20 6 Nations, v Italy at Broadwood Stadium (8.30pm kick off)


The game, shown live on Scottish Rugby TV, is Scotland’s final chance to secure a win in the 2017 Championships.


Head Coach Sean Lineen has made just one change to the side that lost in a good game against England last week, with Logan Trotter coming in on the left wing, Darcy Graham moves to full back.


There are a number of Exiles in the side, Harlequins’ Robbie Nairn is on the right wing, while Bristol University’s Ali Greig is at inside centre, with Gloucester’s Alex Craig in the second row, Worcester Warriors’ Tom Dodd at number 8, and Bishop Burton College’s George Thornton at loosehead.


Speaking to Scottish Rugby ahead of the game, Lineen said:


“The players showed a vast improvement with their performance against England. Their desire and passion to play for the jersey was evident.”


“However, getting our first win of the tournament in the final game is the ultimate motivation and has been the driving force in everything we have done this week. We’ve named a fairly settled side and a team we believe is capable of securing a victory at home.”


“Italy will be a tough contest as always but a win is within our grasp if we perform to the best of our ability, both as individuals and as a team.”


Scotland U20 v Italy U20 – Broadwood Stadium, Friday 17th March, 8.30pm kick off – Live on Scottish Rugby TV


Scotland U20 XV:

15 Darcy Graham (Hawick), 14 Robbie Nairn (Harlequins), 13 Stafford McDowall (Ayr), 12 Ali Greig (Bristol University), 11 Logan Trotter (Stirling County), 10 Josh Henderson (Glasgow Hawks), 9 Andrew Simmers (Heriot’s), 1 George Thornton (Bishop Burton College), 2 Fraser Renwick (Hawick), 3 Adam Nicol (Stirling County), 4 Alex Craig (Gloucester), 5 Callum Hunter-Hill (Stirling County, captain), 6 Bruce Flockhart (Glasgow Hawks), 7 Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Hawks), 8 Tom Dodd (Worcester).

Replacements: 16 Robbie Smith (Ayr), 17 Daniel Winning (Boroughmuir), 18 Fergus Bradbury (Stirling County), 19 Hamish Bain (Currie), 20 Luke Crosbie (Currie), 21 Charlie Shiel (Currie), 22 Craig Pringle (Stirling County), 23 Robert Kay (Heriot’s).

Leave a Response

Related Articles

Back to top